Vampire Academy Series – Book Review #4

I started reading these books when they first one came out. So naturally I had to continue reading each book until the series had finished.

I was going to do a review of each book (Six in total) but I decided against it because that’s a lot of time in re-reading these books when I have others waiting in line to read. Books that I’m excited to get started on. So I’m doing a review of the series as a whole because I feel it needs a review.

So here they are:

Book One: Vampire Academy
Book Two: Frostbite
Book Three:  Shadow Kiss
Book Four: Blood Promise
Book Five: Spirit Bound
Book Six: Last Sacrifice

Series: Vampire Academy

Author: Richelle Mead
Genre: Urban fantasy, Adventure
Young Adult

Rating: ♣♣♣♣

Summary

Two races of vampires walk our world. One, the Moroi, are alive and wield elemental magical. The other, the Strigoi, are undead and evil–feeding on the innocent to survive. Rose Hathaway–a half-vampire with poor impulse control–is training to be a bodyguard for a Moroi princess. Learning to decapitate and stake is hard enough, but Rose’s real danger may lie in an illicit romance with one of her instructors…

Review

Personally I absolutely loved this series. Once I started reading these books I just couldn’t put them down. They were addictive and entertaining.

I thought they were well written for what they were. I found the story to be really clever, you sometimes had a feeling of what was going to happen but sometimes you were completely surprised. I loved the surprises.

I found the plot as a whole to be more original than other vampire books out there, there were aspects which I thought were new and unheard of before. The sub plots kept you guessing. They kept you on your toes and wanting more. The characters were likeable and well rounded. The world Mead has created draws you completely in.

This series is a little different to other vampire series, it’s not about the fact that there are vampires. It’s about love, relationships, friendships, adventure, sacrifice, and growing up.

I loved that the main character Rose was strong and didn’t need protecting. She was the one protecting others. She was independent. You could even relate to all the other characters as well just because they were so well-rounded and dimensional. I found there wasn’t one flat character, flat relationship or flat storyline in this series. Everything worked, connected and related to each other in some way.

Overall the story was enticing and even at the slowest moments (Which there weren’t much of at all) I found it hard to put down, at the most exciting moments I wouldn’t dare stop reading. I hated waiting for the books to come out each year because I wanted to know what happened so bad.

As a young adult series I think it’s aimed more towards the older ‘Young Adults’ and I’m sure older adults would enjoy this series as well, if they’re into the whole vampire thing.

Miss J
x

5 thoughts on “Vampire Academy Series – Book Review #4

  1. Pingback: [Review #54] Living Dead in Dallas by Charlaine Harris | Miss Book Reviews

  2. Pingback: [Review #60] Obsidian by Jennifer L. Armentrout | Miss Book Reviews

  3. Pingback: [Review #79] Demon Glass by Rachel Hawkins | Miss Book Reviews

  4. Pingback: [Review #80] Born at Midnight by C. C. Hunter | Miss Book Reviews

  5. Pingback: [Review #110] Bloodlines by Richelle Mead | Miss Book Reviews

Comment <3

