Wicked Lovely – Book Review #8

Wicked Lovely by Melissa Marr

Title: Wicked Lovely
Series: Wicked Lovely
Book one
Author: Melissa Marr

Publisher:  HarperTeen
Published: 12th June, 2007

Genre: Fantasy, Paranormal Romance
Young Adult

Rating: ♣♣

[Goodreads | Book Depository | Amazon | Whitcoulls NZ]


Rule #3: Don’t stare at invisible faeries.
Aislinn has always seen faeries. Powerful and dangerous, they walk hidden in mortal world. Aislinn fears their cruelty—especially if they learn of her Sight—and wishes she were as blind to their presence as other teens.

Rule #2: Don’t speak to invisible faeries.
Now faeries are stalking her. One of them, Keenan, who is equal parts terrifying and alluring, is trying to talk to her, asking questions Aislinn is afraid to answer.

Rule #1: Don’t ever attract their attention.
But it’s too late. Keenan is the Summer King who has sought his queen for nine centuries. Without her, summer itself will perish. He is determined that Aislinn will become the Summer Queen at any cost—regardless of her plans or desires.

Suddenly none of the rules that have kept Aislinn safe are working anymore, and everything is on the line: her freedom; her best friend, Seth; her life; everything.

Faerie intrigue, mortal love, and the clash of ancient rules and modern expectations swirl together in Melissa Marr’s stunning 21st century faery tale.


This book was interesting. Faeries, magic, evil, power, what more could you want?

Well, it was alright, but it was also dark. I’m not that fond of dark stories. So I didn’t really enjoy it as much as I would have liked. It made me feel anxious. In a bad way. I also found I wasn’t that interested in the whole story line.

Other than that. It was well written and interesting (If you like stories about the fey). I don’t really know what else to say. Mainly because I skimmed the last half of the book due to being bored and feeling way to anxious to actually get stuck in to the story.

The world created by Marr was an interesting one, but also a safe one. Most of the faeries were pretty annoying. Which I guess was the point.

There are five books in this series but to be honest I won’t read any of the others. It’s not a feel good book or world I guess.

If you like faeries though this will be your cup of tea!

Miss J


Comment <3

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )


Connecting to %s