The Iron King – Book Review #9

The Iron King by Julie Kagawa

Title: The Iron King
Series: The Iron Fey
Book one
Author: Julie Kagawa

Publisher:  Harlequin Teen
Published: 1st February, 2010

Genre: Fantasy, Paranormal Romance
Young Adult

Rating: ♣♣

[Goodreads | Book Depository | Amazon | Whitcoulls NZ]

Summary

Meghan Chase has a secret destiny; one she could never have imagined.

Something has always felt slightly off in Meghan’s life, ever since her father disappeared before her eyes when she was six. She has never quite fit in at school or at home.

When a dark stranger begins watching her from afar, and her prankster best friend becomes strangely protective of her, Meghan senses that everything she’s known is about to change.

Review

Another fey story.

Errmmm, well, there was nothing wrong with this book. It was written well, there was lots going on, you understood what was happening. Except that I got bored. I have realised I do not really enjoy Faerie stories. The world of the fey always seems so dark. Personally I like it when I feel happy after I finish a book. Sad maybe because I didn’t want it to end. But happy at how the story was told, how it made me feel, how it ended.

All the faery stories I have read have not made me feel like that. So I have come to the conclusion I personally do not enjoy stories about faeries. The fey world is just too crazy, complex and dark. The fey themselves are crazy, complex and very dark. Even the nice natured fey, still a dark side to them. That is the fey.

But putting my personal feelings aside, this book was a good book. The story was well thought out. I just probably won’t be reading the next books in the series.

Miss J
x

8 thoughts on “The Iron King – Book Review #9

  1. I know what you mean about faery stories. I just posted a review on my blog and the only reason why I read The Iron King was so I could check it off a list. I try not to be bias and give every book a chance before putting them down, but faeries are not my thing either. That doesn’t mean I don’t enjoy fantasy books, because I do, very much so. I would highly recommend anything by Cassandra Clare, she focuses on Shadowhunters, skilled fighters who keep the peace between the human world and the demons. There’s vampires, faeries, werwolfs, worlocks, and other creatures in her stories too. I also see that you are going to read Across the Universe next. I actually liked that book but I feel that it takes a while for the story to get going after a certain event. Okay, I don’t want to ruin anything so I won’t say any more.

    • I’m glad someone else understands where I’m coming from!

      Thanks! I actually started reading The City of Bones and found it incredibly hard to continue reading. I plan on finishing it at some point, just once I get through the stack of books I’ve requested from my library haha. I bought the first book Clockwork Angel from the Infernal Devices Series as well, and purely because the blurb made me want it. I’m going to start that series once I’ve read more of her Mortal Instrument series though. So many books to read! I love it.

      I’m quite excited about Across the Universe actually! I love Sci Fi TV programs and Films set in space. Stargate Universe is one of my favourites purely because it was set on a ship travelling through the universes. It wasn’t one of the best Sci Fi TV programs though and I can see why it got cut after season two, but the cliffhanger on season two made the next season sound awesome! So it sucks no one will ever see that. But I digress. I’ve never read a sci fi book about space before so I’m a little iffy on how I will feel about it. I’ll take that into account when I start reading it after Unearthly!

      Thanks for the comment :)

      • I can understand why City of Bones can be a bit tedious. In all honesty, I think that the Infernal Deivices (Clockwork Angel, Prince, and soon to be Princess) are better than the original series. I like Will’s charcter better then Jace, who can get real angsty and whiny. Will has better reasons for his actions and boy is Clockwork Prince a heart breaker. Also you don’t even need the Mortal Instruments to understand Infernal D. so I would just skip it, if you’re not intereted. I don’t think I’ve watched Stargate Universe but I’ve seen a few episodes of Stargate SG-1. If you like sci-fi stuff try Doctor Who, I have not kept up with the new doctor but I watched it when David Tennent (the guy who played Barty Crouch Jr. in HP4). PS. I’ve also read Unearthly, angle stuffs pretty good but the same thing, I thought it took forever for the story to start. I have a list on my bog of all the books I’ve read so you should check it out!

        • Hmm I think I’ll give it one more go before I decide to write off Mortal Instruments. I want to like it. I really do. But it is quite hard to get into.

          I have heard of Doctor who but I haven’t actually seen any episodes yet. The old adaptation or the new.

          I’ll definitely have a look at your blog! :)

          • I watch more of the new Doctor Who because it’s easier to find online and I hope you like City of Bones. The fifth book is coming out May 8th so you don’t have to wait long, which is nice! If you haven’t read Divergent or Delirium, I would HIGHLY recommend it. I’m a dystopian/ postapacolyptic junkie so I’ve read quite a few of them and both of those books are my favorite. Are there any books that you could recommend to me? I’m open to any genre as long as it’s not too depressing or about werwolfs.

            • Ohh, I’ll put it on my list of books to read! I’m not quite sure how I feel about Dystopian stories. I liked The Hunger Games trilogy but that’s the only Dystopian series I have read!

              Hmm I don’t have any Dystopian books I could recommend (Unless you haven’t read The Hunger Games trilogy yet?) but if you like fantasy sort of books then I would definitely recommend The Wildwood series by Juliet Marillier. Wildwood dancing and Cybele’s secret. I loved them when I read them! Heart’s blood by Marillier is also a pretty cool book. It has the premise of beauty and the beast but it’s quite different at the same time. Still I really enjoyed it. Her Sevenwaters series is also very good. Her writing style reminds me of authors that my mum used to read like David Eddings, which by the way if you like epic fantasy then the Belgariad series and sequel to that the Mallorean series are very good books as well!

              • I’m definatly looking into them! I had a period where I read nothing but YA fantasy and paranormal. And yes, I have read the Hunger Games, plus I’ve watched the movie. I thought they followed the book fairly well and I enjoyed it.

              • Awesome, let me know what you think if you read them!

                Yeah the movie was pretty good I thought as well! The book was better, but the book’s usually are.

Comment <3

