Showcase Sunday #1

Hello!

I have decided that I will start participating in Showcase Sunday. I know today isn’t Sunday here in New Zealand, so I’m a day late!

The aim of Showcase Sunday is to highlight our newest books or book related swag and to see what everyone else received for review, borrowed from libraries, bought in bookshops and downloaded on to eReaders each week. Hosted by Books, Biscuits and Tea.

I bought a couple of books this week! Mainly because I also splurged on a Samsung Galaxy Tablet! Eek! I really shouldn’t have, like really, really shouldn’t have, but I did… So, to start off with I will share a few eBooks that I bought.

 

ReVamped by Ada Adams
I have heard many things about this book among the book review bloggers, so I definitely wanted to try it out. I love the cover as well, the model is gorgeous.

Leopard Moon by Jeanette Battista
There were plenty of good reviews about this book so I decided ‘Why not?’. I’m not sure about the cover though, it seems like a total rip off of Fallen by Lauren Kate. And a bad one at that. Hopefully the cover doesn’t reflect the story! Hopefully the story isn’t as bad as I thought Fallen was…

Slumber by Samantha Young
This book sounded like a really interesting retelling of Sleeping Beauty. The actual sleeping beauty isn’t even the main character, her handmaiden is who embarks on a quest to try and save ‘sleeping beauty’, so I’m intrigued to see how this story goes!

Unbound by Emily Goodwin
This one definitely sounds super interesting! Witches, ghosts, romance all in one is a good mix!

In all honesty most of these eBooks were bought because they were only $0.99 USD and I really wanted to start reading eBooks but couldn’t quite afford the eBooks I wanted from my wishlist. They were all around $15 USD which is near $20 NZD each… I would rather buy a physical paperback book at that price as I like physical books better! I hadn’t heard of any of these before I bought them except ReVamped. But they seemed to have really good reviews on amazon and Goodreads so I’m excited and hope I enjoy them!

My mum ended up buying me some books because if we spent over a certain amount of money in the book store we got bonus points on our card. I was excited because I got books!

Divergent by Veronica Roth
Everyone is raging about this series so I definitely thought it would be a good series to own. The plot sounds interesting so I’m pretty excited to start reading it which should be in a few weeks time I hope! 

Insurgent by Veronica Roth
I had to get the sequel to Divergent of course! 

Evermore by Alyson Noel
I am pretty excited to start reading this one as well! I love my paranormal romance for sure! It doesn’t quite beat sci-fi though.

We then received a voucher for a discount so I thought, I might well see if there are any other books in store that I want. There was.

City of Fallen Angels by Cassandra Clare
I have the predecessors already

Clockwork Prince by Cassandra Clare
I have the predecessors already 

The only thing is I got home to find out that I had actually already bought both of those books months ago! I had completely forgotten because I haven’t been able to read The City of Bones (The Mortal Instruments 1) by Cassandra Clare as I am finding it tedious to read.

On that note: Do you think I’m slightly crazy to continue buying books in a series that I am unable to enjoy reading? I do… Yet I can’t help it. Once I have one book of the series I NEED all of them… I keep telling myself that maybe my children will enjoy them. But I don’t have children and don’t plan on having children for another ten years since I’m only 22. Sooo…. I must be crazy to buy books I’m not enjoying!

I was able to return the two books and get my money back which I then went on to use to order the second book in The Immortal series by Alyson Noel.

I have to say, this is the most books I have ever received in one week!

Yay for books!

What books did you add to your shelves this week?

Miss J

30 thoughts on “Showcase Sunday #1

  1. YAY for Divergent (I love that book!!) and Insurgent! Oh, I also need to get my hands on The Clockwork Prince, I loved the first book in that series! :)

    • Awesome! I have heard lots of awesome things about Divergent so I am super excited to start that!
      I haven’t started reading The Clockwork Angel yet but I bought the first two books because the summary sounded pretty cool! I just can’t believe I forgot I already owned those books haha.

  2. A great selection of books – although I confess I haven’t read any of them! I haven’t started on the mortal instruments either – a friend of mine didn’t like the first but because she had bought the series did the rest and said they got much better! Now she loves them…

    • Ohh really? I like the sound of that then. I really do want to enjoy that series, I just need to push my way through the beginning of the book I think and hopefully I will enjoy it from then onwards!

    • Awesome! I’ll be sure to read it to see what your thoughts are on it! :)

      Haha actually no I didn’t! Splurge does seem like the kind of word to infect people with though. It’s a weird word to say out loud!

  3. Wow some amazing books! I loved Divergent and Insurgent, so can’t wait to hear your thoughts on them! Also Leopard Moon and Slumber also sound interesting! I love their covers! Happy reading! :)

  4. That’s an awesome reading list you’ve got there. Cassie Clare’s a REALLY good writer. (I know from her Harry Potter fanfics). Anyway, let me know how the whole “eBook” thing works out.:) I’m still a bit iffy about getting an e-Reader.

    • Yeah, it’s been getting really good reviews, so I’m interested in seeing how it goes! Yeah, I was a little shocked by the cover really. I’m actually kind of excited to read slumber. It sounds good! Ohh I’ll have to check out smokeless fire!

    • Everyone is raving about the Divergent series, so I’m really looking forward to reading them! Unfortunately that will be in a few weeks time though :/ I’m going to be so impatient! Thanks! :)

  5. Ooh, some lovely books there.

    WHY, oh why are you buying books you are not enjoying?? I didn’t like Matched and I didn’t buy any more of the series.

    Thanks for stopping by my blog.

    • I just can’t help it! It’s like, the plot sounds really interesting but I can’t get my head around the writing :/ The long winded descriptions really do give me a headache :/ I may be a little crazy in this respect haha. I think if I don’t enjoy the rest of the books I will probably give them away. At least someone else will get to enjoy them!

      • Ha ha, I know those crazy irks we all have. I can’t NOT finish a book I started even if it’s bad. I want to get it done with and not NOT- finish it. Good to give them away once you are done though. :)

    • Awesome, I can’t wait to get into all these books! Why oh why is it so far away? :/ Slumber definitely sounds interesting. I’m intrigued to find out how it goes.

  6. Thanks for stopping by!
    Divergent is awesome, but I have yet to read Insurgent. I’ve heard a lot about ReVamped too! It sounds interesting (:

    Happy Reading!

  7. I have to admit, I tend to try to stick with a writer for at least one more book, if they lose me–but then, I’m out of there. I won’t name who it is but I bought like, seven of her books, hated what she did with #3 in the series, and sold the whole lot of ’em back. Yeah, so I’m guilty of it too! Have a good week.

Comment <3

