Cinder – Book Review #21

Cinder by Marissa Meyer

Title: Cinder
Series: Lunar Chronicles
Book one
Author: Marissa Meyer

Published: 3rd January, 2012
Publisher: Feiwel & Friends

Genre: Science Fiction, Romance
Young Adult

Rating: ♣♣♣♣

[Goodreads | Amazon | Book Depository | Whitcoulls NZ]

Summary

Humans and androids crowd the raucous streets of New Beijing. A deadly plague ravages the population. From space, the ruthless lunar people watch, waiting to make their move. No one knows that Earth’s fate hinges on one girl. . . .

Cinder, a gifted mechanic, is a cyborg. She’s a second-class citizen with a mysterious past, reviled by her stepmother and blamed for her stepsister’s illness. But when her life becomes intertwined with the handsome Prince Kai’s, she suddenly finds herself at the center of an intergalactic struggle, and a forbidden attraction. Caught between duty and freedom, loyalty and betrayal, she must uncover secrets about her past in order to protect her world’s future.

Review:

Woww, I loved this story! I might be a little biased though because Cinderella is my favourite fairytale. Still.

The premise was amazing and so exciting! The design on the book is so beautiful. The font used; the chapter titles; the title page. I really just loved it and will definitely be getting myself a copy! I loved reading it and I feel so sad that I’ve finished it now, the second book is due for release next year. That’s so far away!

This retelling of Cinderella was very interesting since it’s set in the future. The technology advancements were subtle but also very logical and were realistically on the path of where we would be going with it. I actually loved the cyborg idea. The fact that there was a ratio of human to cyborg parts was pretty cool. The cyborg’s themselves sounded pretty darn cool too. Well, Cinder did anyway, we never actually met any other cyborgs.

I really enjoyed reading this. I did feel like some of the story dragged where I found myself wishing it would hurry up to the more exciting parts or perhaps the more romantic-in-the-Cinderella-way parts but that wasn’t too often. This story isn’t just based around the ‘romance of Cinderella’ either, it feels like it is actually a sub plot to the bigger picture. I liked that, it has way more substance and I found it was a lot deeper. Although the ‘bigger picture’ is still tied in with the actual fairytale. In other words, it’s a really fun read if you like fairytale’s, also if you like Sci-Fi in a YA setting. So I am pretty excited and interested to see where it goes next.

I just loved the premise! The futuristic spin on Cinderella with Sci-Fi elements? Totally awesome! I am so excited (If you hadn’t already noticed from my repeated use of the word ‘excited’) for the next book!

Miss J
x

6 thoughts on “Cinder – Book Review #21

  1. Thanks for this review (: It was very quick and to the point. You’ve convinced me. haha. I’ll make sure I add a copy of Cinder to my next haul :P

  2. Pingback: First Overview | Miss Book Reviews

  3. Pingback: [Giveaway] Best Of: Science Fiction | Miss Book Reviews

  4. Pingback: [Review #111] Scarlet by Marissa Meyer | Miss Book Reviews

  5. Pingback: [Review #118] Cress by Marissa Meyer | Miss Book Reviews

Comment <3

