First Overview

I haven’t done a post like this since I started my blog. So I will do an overview from the beginning! But because it’s from the beginning I’ will not link every single review just the moments I deem ground breaking!

The Beginning of Time…

When I started this blog I had no idea there was a book blogging community :o Crazy you call me? Yes! I had never searched for a book review before. I had a goodreads account but had no idea how to use it which is strange for me because I’m quite computer savvy. So when I found out about all these amazing blogs I was stoked! I’m in the middle of making a blogroll so you will get to see what blogs I love soon!

The book that made me start this blog was this one: The Hunger Games. The hype was crazy about it and I wanted to read it before I saw the movie. I loved it.

I then went on to read and review the other two books in the series: Catching Fire and Mockingjay. My opinion did waver, but they were still awesome books!

After I discovered and started following other book blogs I discovered features and memes. So I decided to join a few and start a few features of my own:

What I’m Reading
Favourite Cover Friday
On My Wishlist
Showcase Sunday
On The List
Random Acts of Kindness
Feature and Follow

After reading some pretty alright books I stumbled across the book I discern as the best book I’ve read this year!

Unearthly by Cynthia Hand

I think I’ve preached about this book to random people in the book store…

I’ve raved on and on about how much I love Science Fiction books. My TBR list is now the highest it has ever been. I discovered the genre Dystopian and now at least half the books on my TBR list are dystopian…

After a while I finally got fed up with my un-personalized layout, I knew my blog looked plain and boring but I had no motivation to find a wordpress theme that I liked and could personalise. I finally got my butt into gear and did something about it earlier this week.

New Look.

Yes, it took me over a month to do this. But I needed to learn a few ins and outs of blogging first! Especially the ins and outs of wordpress.com. I’m still learning but hopefully I am doing a way better job of it now than before! And hopefully I’ll be doing an amazing job of it in a years time.

Books that I’ve reviewed so far that I fell in love with:

Across the Universe series by Beth Revis
Cinder by Marissa Meyer

Review archive of every book I’ve reviewed.

So I’ve been sipping a coffee and coming up with a few other ideas for the blog the past few days, I’m quite excited about them really, but they will take a few weeks to implement as I’ve got a ton of things on in life at the moment. Watch This Space!

What would you like to see in future posts?
Or perhaps just on the blog?

Miss J
x

2 thoughts on “First Overview

  1. I definitely know how you feel. I’ve blogged before but the book blogging community is so different than other blogging communities I’ve been apart of. I feel so much closer with everyone! haha.

    Yes, as you know. I bloody love The Hunger Games as well. I want to thank Suzanne Collins for not only writing such an amazing series, but for getting me back into reading!! :P

    I have Unearthly on my To-Read list but I’ve never been totally serious about it. I am definitely checking it out now though!! When I get my next pay I’m getting Unearthly and Cinder (: And can’t wait to read Across the Universe.

    I personally like posts that are a little more personal, a bit like this. I don’t see them all too often in the book blogging community though so I’m always a little unsure of them. Apart from reviews some posts I enjoy are book-related discussions and posts about covers (but you already do that ). haha.

    Love the new layout btw! I almost didn’t recognize your blog at first. Definitely makes it more personal (:

    • Ohh what blogging did you do before? Yeah I feel the same! The book blogging community feels like a real community. I love it!

      Haha I should thank her too for the same reasons!

      Ohh I’ll definitely look out for your reviews for them :) Hmm now I hope you like them haha.

      Yeah personal posts are great I think, I like reading them and feeling more connected to the blogger. Especially if we have some things in common!

      Aw thank you! I’m glad people like it!

Comment <3

