Tangled Tides – Book Review #22

Tangled Tides by Karen Amanda Hooper

Title: Tangled Tides
Series: The Sea Monster Memoirs
Book one
Author: Karen Amanda Hooper

Published: 4 November, 2011
Publisher: Rhemalda Publishing

Genre: Fantasy, Romance
Young Adult

Rating: ♣♣♣

[Goodreads | Amazon | Book Depository | Whitcoulls NZ]

Summary

Yara Jones doesn’t believe in sea monsters—until she becomes one.

When a hurricane hits her island home and she wakes up with fins, Yara finds herself tangled up in an underwater world of mysterious merfolk and secretive selkies. Both sides believe Yara can save them by fulfilling a broken promise and opening the sealed gateway to their realm, but they are battling over how it should be done. The selkies want to take her life. The merfolk want something far more precious.

Treygan, the stormy-eyed merman who turned Yara mer, will stop at nothing and sacrifice everything to protect his people—until he falls for Yara. The tides turn as Yara fights to save herself, hundreds of sea creatures, and the merman who has her heart. She could lose her soul in the process—or she might open the gateway to a love that’s deeper than the oceans.

Young Adult fans of Mermaids, Selkies, Sirens and Gorgons will love this tale of the sacrifice one makes for genuine love. Love that could be lost at any moment to the ever-changing tides.

Review:

There was so much folklore in this story. I really liked it! To weave up this story and world there must have been a lot of research because there was just so much going on, so much history, the back stories sounded really complicated yet the way it was explained was very easy to understand.

The design of the book was also very interesting and very pretty. I liked the sea creature drawings for every character. It was a simple yet effective way from breaking up the P.O.V’s, I liked that the P.O.V’s would change several times in a chapter. This meant I didn’t feel like I was getting used to every character’s story, it felt like it connected.

The writing was a little iffy at the beginning to be honest. The story launched in right at the beginning leaving no room to set up the story. We were barely introduced to the main character before the main plot of the story leaped right in leaving us thinking ‘Wahh, what just happened?’, who’s who? What’s going on? etc.

The writing got a lot better as the story progressed though. The characters developed quite a lot through out the story which was very pleasing. I found that half way through I couldn’t put the book down, I just couldn’t stop reading.

The way the characters switched P.O.V actually worked really well, it flowed really well and I never once got drawn out of the story because of it. I’ve noticed with that style a lot of the time it affects the enjoyment for me, so the fact that it didn’t for this book was very pleasing and nice to know that I can enjoy a book that is written like this.

I liked this story because it was really interesting, I haven’t ever really read a story based on sea creatures or mermaids before so this book was a really good start to that topic. It was really entertaining and I loved it! I liked that the romance developed! None of this ‘insta-love’ stuff. Although, the way Yara flipped over the way she felt about Treygan was a little too fast I think.

Overall this was a pretty good book! I recommend giving it a go and pushing your way through the first few chapters if you get stuck at the writing like I did. Because it really is worth it.

Miss J
x

3 thoughts on “Tangled Tides – Book Review #22

  1. I think I might have to pass on this one as well or put it at the bottom of my to read list based on your description. Do you like mermaid books (just asking in general)? I read and reviewed ‘The Vicious Deep’ by Zoraida Cordova. You should check that book out I think you may like it. It’s from a merman’s (read: guy/male) perspective which is something less used (POV) in the paranormal YA genre.

    • Haha yeah, this is the first mermaid book I have ever read but I don’t think it would be your type of book based on the books you’ve reviewed! It’s more of a girly, fluffy book I think.

      Hmm I’m not quite sure yet, I’ll definitely have a look at the Vicious Deep! I have heard from other people as well that that is a pretty good book. Yeah, I actually haven’t read a book with only a male’s POV in ages.

      Thanks!

  2. Pingback: Monthly Overview. Plus some. | Miss Book Reviews

Comment <3

