Favourite Cover Friday #6

Favourite Cover Friday

This week my favourite cover is:

I like this cover for multiple reasons.

First, it’s snowing. I’ve never seen it snow for real but I’ve always thought it looked really pretty. Second, the trees look haunting yet they have this quality of beauty to them, I think the way they have no leaves and the branches just go everywhere makes them look really interesting. And third, the girl. Her reflection in the icy water is a nice touch. All of those things drew me to this cover.

Just from the cover you can tell that this story is a dark story. The dark clouds look ominous. The whole cover looks ominous. The font even looks scary.

Once again this is a book that I have no interest in reading. But I do like the cover. So here’s the summary:

Fracture by Megan Miranda

Eleven minutes passed before Delaney Maxwell was pulled from the icy waters of a Maine lake by her best friend Decker Phillips. By then her heart had stopped beating. Her brain had stopped working. She was dead. And yet she somehow defied medical precedent to come back seemingly fine. Everyone wants Delaney to be all right, but she knows she’s far from normal. Pulled by strange sensations she can’t control or explain, Delaney finds herself drawn to the dying. Is her altered brain now predicting death, or causing it?

Then Delaney meets Troy Varga, who recently emerged from a coma with similar abilities. At first she’s reassured to find someone who understands the strangeness of her new existence, but Delaney soon discovers that Troy’s motives aren’t quite what she thought. Is their gift a miracle, a freak of nature-or something much more frightening?

For fans of best-sellers like Before I Fall and If I Stay, this is a fascinating and heart-rending story about love and friendship and the fine line between life and death.

Miss J
x

 

4 thoughts on “Favourite Cover Friday #6

  1. I love that cover as well! It’s funny though. I remember seeing this on sale at a bookstore for about $10 once but I didn’t pick it up (even though I now want to read it). I think it has one of those covers that are really pretty, but it’s not one of those covers that makes you want to read a book if you know what I mean. I’m sorry to say I do judge books by their cover and this cover didn’t do it for me… even though I think it’s pretty… haha. This book didn’t really interest me before either but I’ve heard some good reviews on it so I hope to check it out soon (:

    • Ohh $10 is a nice price! Yeah, I definitely know what you mean. If I saw this in the book store I would admire the cover but I probably wouldn’t pick it up.

      I judge books by their covers too! Unfortunately… If I’m at the library or wandering through a book store I pick up books that I like the covers of or I think has a pretty cool title… How else would you narrow down the choices? Otherwise you would be there forever reading the blurbs of every book on the shelf.

  2. Oh I soo agree with you! It has such a mysterious feel to it that just draws you in. I’ve seen snow like once in my life when I went down south in NZ but I still think it looks incredibly beautiful and peaceful whenever I see it again, so I can definitely see what you mean about this cover! It’s just so different from every other YA cover out there, you know the whole girl-in-dress thing? Plus, a lot of other bloggers I trust have LOVED this so I really want to read it : )

    • Ohhh the whole girl in dress thing is 80% of YA covers! Well that’s probably an exaggeration, but I feel like it’s true. I like staring at them though haha. I wonder what will be the next fad with YA covers?! Book covers are so different now than they were 10 years ago. I’m reading a book that was published in the 90’s and woww, the cover is so… well… let’s just say I think today’s covers are prettier!

      Hmm so both Kim’s say that everyone say’s it’s an amazing book. Maybe I’ll give it a shot?

      xx

Comment <3

