ReVamped – Book Review #24

ReVamped by Ada Adams

Title: ReVamped
Series: Angel Creek
Book one
Author: Ada Adams

Published: 20th February, 2012

Genre: Paranormal, Romance
Young Adult

Rating: ♣♣♣

[Goodreads | Amazon | Official Site]

Summary:

A simple mission turned deadly.

Nineteen-year-old vampire Dawn has led a sheltered life within the confines of her father’s presidential headquarters. Upon being sent on a mission to revamp four goofy misfits into guardians of a peaceful little town of Angel Creek, Dawn believes that all her dreams have finally come true. What starts off as a simple task, turns into something unexpected, changing Dawn’s life forever and leading the action-loving, thrill-seeking vampire teen on a path of mystery, danger and intrigue.

When a human girl is kidnapped by a group of rogue vamps, Dawn discovers that there is more going on in Angel Creek than meets the eye. And it all connects to Ethan, the cute newcomer who seems too perfect to be true, Sebastian, the mysterious vampire with a turbulent past, and even Dawn herself. Dawn must not only succeed in revamping the troubled recruits, but must also prevent the vampire race from being overtaken by a malevolent villain who has a strange and obsessive fascination with her. As threat escalates, romance blooms, and ghosts from her past begin to surface, Dawn is sure of only one thing: her life will never be the same.

Review:

What an intense read!

The writing is very good in a literal sense. That was one of the first things I noticed. The words used all made sense and I knew exactly what was being said, I didn’t have to re-read things to understand them. There were no long winded descriptions either which I loved.

The story its self was interesting, it was a very interesting take on vampires. I liked the Born and Made idea. It’s a new perspective with different ideas and I liked that. It’s gets boring seeing the same ideas used over and over again in the vampire world, yet authors keep coming out with different things which I think is pretty cool!

At the beginning of the story the first few pages were awesome, they’re pretty exciting and I couldn’t wait to see where it led. It was definitely a good start! One thing that threw me off though was that all of the background history was explained straight away. All at once. It was like information over load, I would have liked to find out about that as the story progressed in some way, not right at the beginning and all at once.

The writing style was a little off for me. At times it felt like the story was being told to us rather than the readers being drawn into the story. It took away some of the enjoyment of reading this book. It felt like the crucial moments were being explained so we didn’t get to feel them, we were only told about them even though they were happening right in front of us and that was pretty disappointing because I really could have liked this book a lot more.

Adams has written an interesting story, it was action packed and exciting most of the way through. Dawn was a pretty kick ass character! She was actually very mature, three quarter of the times. I loved that she could fight, that she was a natural leader and that she was so strong. She was also very likeable. But it was hard to feel for any of the other characters because we hardly got to know them, there wasn’t much character work on anyone except Dawn and that made me sad. So I found myself barely feeling for anyone because they were strangers to me. I had no connection to them what so ever. I really didn’t care what happened to them and in fact I kept forgetting their names so whenever another character was mentioned I had a hard time remembering who it was. Such a shame really.

I would definitely read this story if you like vampires. It has a bigger picture than just romance although there is some of that thrown in there too. The ending is rather cool and something I totally did not expect. Let me know what you thought of it!

To be honest I’m still excited to read the sequel, I want to see what Adam’s comes out with.

Miss J
x

5 thoughts on “ReVamped – Book Review #24

  1. I’ve heard of this book a lot but I’ve never really read an actual review on it. For some reason I didn’t have high expectations for this (…okay… I admit… it was the cover…). Thanks for this review though! It sounds like it might be worth the read, especially if you plan on continuing the series. I’ll be checking this out at the library when I find that it’s available (:

    • Yeah, I’ve heard of it a lot as well, so with a low price of $1 on amazon I thought I’d get the ebook! I didn’t really have high expectations when I read it thought, that perhaps helped the rating lol.

  2. Pingback: Monthly Overview. Plus some. | Miss Book Reviews

  3. Pingback: [Review #54] Living Dead in Dallas by Charlaine Harris | Miss Book Reviews

  4. Pingback: [Blog Tour] ReAwakened by Ada Adams | Miss Book Reviews

Comment <3

