[Review #28] The Vampire Diaries: The Awakening by L. J. Smith

The Vampire Diaries: The Awakening by L. J. Smith

Title: The Vampire Diaries: The Awakening
Series: The Vampire Diaries
Book one
Author: L. J. Smith

Published:  1991

Genre: Paranormal
Young Adult
Rating: ♣♣

[Goodreads | Amazon | Book Depository | Whitcoulls NZ]

Summary

Elena Gilbert is used to getting what she wants and she wants mysterious new boy, Stefan. But Stefan is hiding a deadly secret – a secret that will change Elena’s life for ever …

Review

I like The Vampire Diaries T.V series so I wanted to give these books ago. I am laughing at myself right now.

I don’t think the plot in this book was very strong actually. I felt like there was barely anything there, I felt like it was dragged out to the maximum leaving us with a stringy, barely there plot that did not really satisfy anything. It felt like a huge introduction to the real story which we never got to. Boy was that disappointing.

We first meet Elena after she comes home from a summer holiday with her aunt, little sister and aunt’s fiancée. We learn that her parents died a few years ago leaving her and her sister alone with her young aunt having to stand up and take care of them. When she leaves for her first day of school she instantly feels like she’s being watched. At school everyone fawns over her and adores her as she’s beautiful and everyone wants to be like her but she couldn’t really care less about anyone except her best friends, she’s polite but that’s about it. Talk about annoying attitude.

Bonnie is one of Elena’s best friends, she is a short, curly haired, pale red head. And Meredith is Elena’s other best friend who is a tall, olive and really pretty. We vaguely meet Caroline who used to be Elena’s friend when they were growing up but now they’re some-what distant. Caroline declare’s war on Elena because she wants to be the queen of the school, that’s where we see Elena’s friendship end with Carolyn which practically happens right at the beginning. Matt is Elena’s boyfriend at the beginning of the book but she also breaks up with him at the beginning after realising there isn’t any spark there, she just adores him as a friend. I think she treats Matt horribly through the whole book, she just walks all over his feelings.

When Elena first meets Stefan, the new guy from Italy, she is instantly pulled to him. Although he doesn’t seem interested in her in the slightest. In fact he goes out of his way to ignore her, many times in public. This pisses her off and so she decides to make it her mission to make Stefan hers. I found that weird, creepy and kind of stalker-ish. She gets her friends Bonnie and Meredith to try and help her while  Carolyn fights to make Stefan hers as well.

Practically the first book is about Elena trying to win Stefan over, which is what the summary says and is all the summary says…. while the town of Fells Church mysteriously experiences a lot of random murders. Elena and her friends keep experiencing bizarre supernatural things that freak them out and Elena can’t stop feeling like she’s being watched. We get to read Stefan’s point of views as well but all they’re ever about is how much denial he is in and how much he hates himself…

There are quite a few parts that really grab your attention and I found I wanted to keep reading to see what happened at these parts. But then in between these parts I got bored and kept putting the book down.

Well, this was interesting. I did not like Elena in the books at all. I thought she was selfish, stuck up and acted like a child most of the time. She never really thought about anyone else unless it concerned her. That surprised me a lot. She did change throughout the book although I felt she went from cold, selfish and kind of caring to whiny, selfish and self absorbed. She changed, but not for the better.

I thought Stefan was kind of annoying as well but only because he was in denial pretty much the whole time. We learn more about him than Elena though so he’s somewhat more likeable except that he broods all the time and is always miserable. Annoying.

Damon. We barely met him in this book and he was a huge ass when we did.

I really adored Bonnie! I found her to be very likeable and cute. I wish she had more involvement. Maybe she does in the next books in the series?

We see quite a bit of Meredith but I don’t feel like we really get to know her. I’m not exactly sure who she is except for one of Elena’s best friends. This intrigues me about her.

The books and the T.V. series are so different that I got incredibly confused to begin with. Then I decided to think of the book as a completely different thing. That meant I was able to imagine up my own characters etc. But that didn’t really help at all with liking this book. There are just so many differences that it’s obvious that the T.V. show is very, very loosely based around the books.

Elena obviously looks completely different appearance wise with blonde hair and blue eyes in the book. She’s also very different in personality and attitude. The Elena in the T.V. series is a completely different character. The only resemblance these two characters bear is the name and the fact Stefan and Damon both want her. For what reason in the books I don’t know, personally I think she’s whiny, childish and annoying.

Stefan broods way to much in the books and I think he’s more of a good guy but that’s only my opinion from the first book. I wonder if he gets more bad ass? I can’t really comment on Damon for this book since we barely see him.

Bonnie is pale, a red head and bubblier. All the things the Bonnie in the T.V. show is not. I like Bonnie from the books better but can understand why she is so different in the T.V. show.

Meredith isn’t even in the show…

There are just way too many differences. So I just rolled with it.

I thought this book took a long time to really start. It grabbed me from the beginning but then it died down right after until the end where there was a slight cliff hanger. There were those moments which I couldn’t put the book down but those just weren’t enough for me to really like this book. I just felt like there wasn’t much going on and that it was a tad boring, this could have been because I’ve seen the T.V. series. And although it is very different it still follows the plot, albeit with much more detail and it’s way more exciting, so I knew what the ending was.

Overall I was pretty disappointed, I wonder what I would have felt like if I hadn’t watched the series first? Because compared to the series the books don’t really par up.

Have you read this book? If so, what were your thoughts?

Miss J

5 thoughts on “[Review #28] The Vampire Diaries: The Awakening by L. J. Smith

  1. Pingback: What I’m Reviewing #4 | Miss Book Reviews

  2. Pingback: Monthly Overview. Plus some. | Miss Book Reviews

  3. Pingback: [Review #54] Living Dead in Dallas by Charlaine Harris | Miss Book Reviews

Comment <3

