[Review #30] The Secret Circle: The Initiation by L. J. Smith

The Secret Circle: The Initiation by L. J. Smith

Title: The Secret Circle: The Initiation
Series: The Secret Circle
Book one
Author: L. J. Smith

Published: 1992

Genre: Paranormal, Romance
Young Adult
Rating: ♣♣♣♣

[Goodreads | Amazon | Book Depository]

Summary

The circle’s power has lured her home.

Forced to move from sunny California to gloomy New England, Cassie longs for her old life. But when she arrives, she discovers that her destiny is inescapable.  She feels a strange kinship to a terrifying group of teens who seem to rule her school.

Review

Hmm all of the summaries for this book felt like they ruined the whole book by giving too much away. I ended up shortening one to make it work without ruining the book for you.

We meet Cassie while she’s on holiday and talking to someone named Portia, to be honest I have no idea who this Portia is because it isn’t really explained. I guess this is because she’s not really involved in the story only the beginning. Cassie see’s a boy walking down the beach and Portia instantly informs her that he’s a low life (of some kind) and she needs to ignore him. His dog ends up going up the Cassie and instead of ignoring the boy Cassie finds herself feeling freer than she has all summer. Portia is pretty disgusted in this.

Later that day Cassie ends up helping the boy and gets hurt because of this, he feels indebted to her and gives her a present, one that he says will protect her when she needs it most. She realises she will never see him again. When she arrives to the house that her mother rented for the summer her mother informs her that her grandmother is very sick and they are going to move to New Salem to look after her. Cassie gets upset at this as she doesn’t even get to say goodbye to her friends in California.

The rest of the book deals with Cassie in this new town where she finds odd things happen all the time and no one else bats an eyelid, things that she can’t explain yet no one else seems to care about. It drives her crazy.

Overall I actually really enjoyed this book. I never got bored and I wanted to keep reading it till I finished it. There was something about the writing that grabbed me and made me really enjoy this.

Cassie is timid and shy mostly but I find she’s also strong when she needs to be. I liked Cassie and found her to be relatable. she wasn’t perfect in any way, she was real. Kind, caring and real.

I really liked Diana too, she was very kind to everyone which was nice to see. I thought this would grate on my nerves but it didn’t because Diana also wasn’t a push over, she was a very strong person that wasn’t stubborn or annoying.

Faye was pretty mean but this didn’t make me hate her. It only made me dislike the things she did.

All of the other characters were there but they were also interesting and didn’t let the story down. I really liked that.

I thought the writing was really well done in this book. I was pretty sceptical after reading Smith’s The Vampire Diaries and really not enjoying it but this was a refreshing shock. There was no tumbling over words or descriptions, everything was clear and there was no confusion. It wasn’t amazing writing but that didn’t matter, there are a lot of worse written books than this.

The T.V series with the same name is very loosely based off of this series. Apparently all of L. J. Smith’s book series that are T.V series have been loosely translated. Very loosely translated. That didn’t bother me actually.

The main differences when comparing the two are that there are way more events that happen in the T.V show than there are in the book, that’s obviously because there needs to be more happening to sustain the length of a T.V show. But the book was still pretty good and entertaining in my opinion.

There are twelve witches in the coven which is a lot more than in the T.V series.

In the book Cassie has light brown hair and she is a lot more shy and timid than she is in the T.V series. In fact the Cassie in the T.V series is blonde and is not afraid to kick butt! In the book Diana has blonde hair and is in charge, she’s a pretty good leader I think but in the T.V series she’s a gorgeous brunette and I honestly feel like she isn’t as strong in the T.V series as she is in the books.

The one thing that did annoy me though was that the emotion love came too easily and too swiftly. Characters were using it when they barely knew each other, it really doesn’t happen like that in real life. It wasn’t insta-love in this situation, it happened through one event which made it a little better. But I still wished there was more building up to it.

I’ve never read a book based on witches so I think this was a pretty nice introduction. It wasn’t cliché and I didn’t feel like it was overbearing in any way. I really enjoyed it and it’s exactly what I needed to read.

I really liked this book, it had me hanging in there the whole time wanting to know what was going to happen next, how Cassie was going to face the trials ahead. I didn’t have very high expectations when I started this book because of how disappointed I was with TVD so I think that made me enjoy this a lot more. I would definitely recommend this book to someone who wanted a light and enjoying read!

Miss J

5 thoughts on “[Review #30] The Secret Circle: The Initiation by L. J. Smith

  1. Pingback: [Review #29] The Secret Circle: The Power by L. J. Smith | Miss Book Reviews

  2. Pingback: [Review #29] The Secret Circle: The Captive by L. J. Smith | Miss Book Reviews

  3. Pingback: What I’m Reviewing #4 | Miss Book Reviews

  4. Pingback: Monthly Overview. Plus some. | Miss Book Reviews

Comment <3

