[Review #39] Vampire Diaries: The Fury by L. J. Smith

Vampire Diaries: The Fury by L. J. Smith

Title: Vampire Diaries: The Fury by L. J. Smith
Series: Vampire Diaries
Book three
Author: L. J. Smith

Published: 1991

Genre: .
Young Adult
Rating: ♣♣

[Goodreads | Amazon | Book Depository | Whitcoulls NZ]

Summary

A Love Triangle of Unspeakable Horror…

Stefan 
Tormented after losing Elena, he’ s determined to end the feud with his brother, Damon–whatever the cost.

Damon 
Mocking Stefan and Elena, he laughs in the face of doom.

Elena 
Wild with her craving for blood, she confronts the ultimate evil.

The terrifying story of two vampire brothers and the beautiful girl torn between them.

Review

A short review for this one. Mainly because these books are so short that there’s no time for anything to happen, so there isn’t that much to review on…

*If you are not familiar with The Vampire Diaries books or the T.V. Series, then do not read on. SPOILERS ARE AHEAD.*

This book was better than the first two still it wasn’t that entertaining. There was more going on, but only just, the characters were written better, I liked Elena way more in this book than the first two. Still I didn’t like her all that much. Stefan wasn’t as brooding, but I still didn’t like him all that much either. Damon was the only character that I liked out of the three. In this one I didn’t really like Meredith, Matt or Bonnie. Kind of disappointing there. There was a twist which I thought was pretty cool though.

Okay, so Elena has fallen in love with both brothers. Which she does in the first two books. Well to me I really don’t feel like Elena has any reason to fall in love with Damon. At first he was force-ably taking blood from her, they barely talk, they’re barely alone, they don’t really share any ‘moment’s and I feel like there is no justification for it. It is implied that she fell for him in the second book when he was feeding on her all the time and he fed her his blood (Which by the way we didn’t even see. It’s as if it happened away from the readers’ eyes. And I really hate that). So I am pretty annoyed that she is now head over heels for him and in denial about it.

Overall I wasn’t that impressed by this book. I was still bored, just not as much, I felt like nothing was happening. All these books are too short. There’s no time for anything to happen or for the readers to be drawn in in such a short amount of time. I found it a little hard to stay focussed on this book but I did and I’m kind of intrigued to read the next one. Which I will.

Even though I liked this book more than the other two, I still couldn’t bring myself to give it a rating that was higher than a 2. I really just could not care about anyone or anything in this book. The only reason I’m reading these is because I want to read the books to see if they get any better and to see what is different from the T.V. show… Yeahh that’s pretty weird and probably a little screwed up…

Miss J

7 thoughts on “[Review #39] Vampire Diaries: The Fury by L. J. Smith

  1. Sorry you didn’t end up really liking it, but I can assure you that the farther you read into the series the more and more different the book and the TV show become. I also really love that cover for it! I have the ones with the faces on it, but that one is really cute.

  2. Aw, sorry you didn’t enjoy this one, but I can definitely see why. I hate it when characters fall in love with other people who are dangerous to them, or whom they hardly spend any time with. I count that as insta-love. -__- And this one sounds super boring, too. *sigh*

    Thanks for the honest review, though! :)

    • it’s definitely a form of insta-love. I really dis-like insta-love. Why do so many paranormal books have insta-love?

      I’m really glad the T.V. show is awesome though!

  3. Thanks for sharing your thoughts! Back when these books were first published, I believe there weren’t as many paranormal novels for YA as we have nowadays, and I think the newer novels have set a much different standard for us to expect! I personally prefer watching the TV series :)

    • That is true. I like the ‘feel’ of this book series, it makes me feel nostalgic for the nineties! What I mean is, this is very different to the paranormal books that are written today, you can feel it when you read it. I liked that. I kind of wish I had been able to like it as a whole a lot more though.

  4. Pingback: What I’m Reviewing #6 | Miss Book Reviews

  5. Pingback: Another month gone bye | Miss Book Reviews

Comment <3

