[Giveaway] Best Of: Science Fiction

[Today I was spotlighted on Aunti Spinelli Reads. Check it out!]
Miss Book Reviews Six Months Old Giveaway

To celebrate my six months of blogging I wanted to look back and highlight the ‘best of’ the past six months.

Today I want to share with you the books in the Science Fiction genre that I’ve read over the past six months and loved.
[The following books are taken from the books I’ve read and reviewed only since I started blogging]

Best of: Science Fiction

I love Science Fiction books, especially ones that are set in space! I find space interesting and scary at the same time, yet the possibilities are mind boggling!

Is the universe ever expanding? Or is it shrinking? Is it looped? Or is there more than one universe out there? There has to be other beings out there, somewhere. Space is HUGE! There are so many questions I find myself pondering when I look up to the night sky. Sometimes I wonder if the star I’m looking at is actually dead now, if it collapsed in on its self, or maybe it’s a galaxy that holds something else. I find space beautiful yet terrifying.

Of all the Science Fiction books I’ve read the past six months (Which honestly isn’t many at all :() my favourites have been:

Across the Universe by Beth RevisA Million Suns by Beth RevisCinder by Marissa MeyerWhispers in Autumn by Trisha Leigh

Across the Universe by Beth Revis
A Million Suns by Beth Revis
I loved the concept of Across the Universe (And the space-y covers!), I thought it was cool and interesting. A girl wakes up too early on a spaceship that is heading to their new planet? Ohh so exciting! I enjoyed A Million Suns more than Across the Universe though, I think that was because everything was already set so it launched right into the story and had me holding on till the end.

Cinder by Marrisa Meyer
I loved Cinder! Especially since I also love Cinderella so it was bringing my favourite fairy tale and my favourite genre/s (I also love dystopian) together and that was just awesome! Cinderella a cyborg?! How ever could a prince love a cyborg? Not to mention the Lunar. Oh wait. I just did. Where are the Lunar’s? The Moon. Awesome.

Whispers in Autumn by Trisha Leigh
I really liked Whispers of Autumn because of the concept more than the actual story. It was a really enjoyable story but perhaps not the most entertaining. I liked the idea of aliens invading earth and taking control of everyone, but I liked it a whole lot more with the seasonal elements thrown in and how Althea always transports to a different family when the season’s change yet each of those families never notice when she’s gone.

Have you read these books? What did you think of them?
Can you recommend any other Science Fiction books that are set in space?
I would love to hear of them!

And of course: Don’t forget to enter the giveaway!

Giveaway

Miss Book Reviews Six Month Old Giveaway

One winner will win ONE book up to the price of $20 USD from the Book Depository!

Just click on the button to be taken to the rafflecopter page! Or click HERE.

+ Must be thirteen years old or older.
+ Giveaway ends on November 18th 2012 (EST).
+
Open internationally as long as The Book Depository ships to you. Please check here.
+ The winner will be chosen at random by Rafflecopter.
+ The winner will be contacted via e-mail and will have 48 hours to respond.
+ I will be checking the validity of the entries :)

[I may sound a little crazy in this post because I’m very tired…]

Miss J
x

8 thoughts on “[Giveaway] Best Of: Science Fiction

  1. I LOVE Across the Universe and A Million Suns!! I felt amazed by all the things that took place inside the spaceship. It’s especially interesting when the inner structure of the ship had been altered so much that people who grew up inside the ship no longer questioned about why there were no windows. As you can tell, I’m a big fan of the series :)

    • Haha cool! I loved the whole idea of Amy being woken up too early in space! I kind of thought AtU was going to be more of a space opera with action though so was surprised to find it was more of a mystery than anything else. I still really liked it.

      What do you think of the new covers?

        • Yeah, that’s definitely why it’s my favourite of the two! I’m so excited for Shades of Earth!

          Yeahh, I love the space-y covers a lot better than the new ones. But I do see how the news one also appeal to males as well as females. I just wish they would release a space-y hardcover version as well lol. In my dreams.

    • Ohh yes, I’ve read Ender’s Game! I can see how it’s a classic! I do feel like it went a little bit over my head with all the politics though, but I still thoroughly enjoyed it!

Comment <3

