[Review #54] Living Dead in Dallas by Charlaine Harris

Living Dead in Dallas by Charlaine Harris Title: Living Dead in Dallas
Series: Sookie Stackhouse
Book two
Author: Charlaine Harris
Published: 26th March, 2002
Publisher: Harcourt
Genre: Paranormal Romance
Adult
Rating: 
[Goodreads | Amazon | Book Depository | Whitcoulls NZ]

Summary

Sookie Stackhouse likes living in Bon Temps, Louisiana, and she likes working as a cocktail waitress at Merlotte’s. But she is having a streak of bad luck. First her co-worker is killed, and no one seems to care. Then she comes face-to-face with a beastly creature which gives her a painful and poisonous lashing. Enter the vampires, who graciously suck the poison from her veins (like they didn’t enjoy it).

The point is: the vampires saved her life. So when one of her bloodsuckers asks for a favour, she obliges-and soon Sookie’s in Dallas, using her telepathic skills to search for a missing vampire. She’s supposed to interview certain humans involved, but she makes one condition: the vampires must promise to behave, and let the humans go unharmed. But that’s easier than done, and all it takes is one delicious blonde and one small mistake for things to turn deadly…

Review

Living Dead in Dallas is the sequel to Dead Until Dark. 

Living Dead in Dallas is an interesting sequel. We have more vampires, we’re introduced to Maenards and the horrible things they do, and then there’s the vampire hating church.

The maenards seem like interesting creatures. In this world they’re incredibly old, powerful and flighty creatures. A maenard attacks Sookie as a warning to Eric, the scratch of a maenard cannot be cured by vampire’s blood so Sookie finds herself in a lot of trouble that may end up in her death.

It looks like Sookie and Bill’s relationship is rocky in this book, I found this surprising. They fought a lot and the way Bill acted had me really annoyed at him, but at the same time I did feel like Sookie handled the situations a little immaturely or perhaps naïvely? I think I’m already on the Eric bandwagon…

Bill is sent to Dallas and Sookie is summoned with him. Eric has ‘loaned’ Sookie out to another Area that are in need of her telepathic powers. Sookie agrees to help out but only on the condition that no humans get hurt. Keeping the vampires to this promise is something Sookie is hell bent on. So when the vampires ask her to help them find a vampire of theirs that went missing by questioning the last humans that saw him, she triple checks that the humans will not be killed afterwards.

Living Dead in Dallas was a fun read. I expected to like it a lot more than the first book in the series but I found the first book seemed to be more enjoyable and memorable to me. This one was entertaining to read and I did like it, just not as much as I liked the first one.

Overall, I enjoyed this book and can’t wait to read the third in the series!

Living Dead in Dallas is an entertaining Sookie Stackhouse book that keeps you wondering what’s going on and how it’s going to turn out.

I recommend reading this book if you enjoy paranormal romance, vampires and have read the first book; Dead Until Dark.

Other books on vampires:
The Vampire Diaries
ReVamped
Blue Bloods
Marked
The Vampire Academy

Miss J
x

6 thoughts on “[Review #54] Living Dead in Dallas by Charlaine Harris

    • I definitely will be! I can’t wait to catch up to True Blood and then pass it haha. I’m dying to know what happens next on True Blood, which makes me read the books faster.

  1. Wow, this is one LONG series! I’m not sure I like the sound of the characters (especially Bill) particularly, but the creatures – the maenards – sound pretty cool. :)

    • I reckon right?! I hope it stays interesting through every book…

      The characters are a little weird. I like them one book then the next I really don’t like them. Bill’s the main one that I’m not liking at the moment, Eric is all over the place; I like him then he does something controlling or thoughtless and I don’t like him as much. But then he does something very caring and thoughtful and I can’t help but ‘Aww’ing.

      Have you seen True Blood? I LOVE True Blood! I like how they adapted from the books, it’s different yet it’s also the same. Bill is a lot more likeable in the T.V. Series, Eric is way hotter, and Alcide (He’s introduced in the third book) lives up to the sexy man he is in Club Dead (Book #3) haha.

      Charlaine Harris has a way of writing endings that tie up most of the lose ends for that book yet you’re left there wanting to read the next book straight away because you want to know what happens next in Sookie’s life. Even if you didn’t like the book as much as you thought you would.

      I quite like that about this series.

      :)

  2. Ooooh, Sookie ♥
    I thought Maenad was interesting but strange. I had trouble following that… subplot? Storyline? Was the missing Bill bit the main plot, or was she?

    I REALLY loved Eric in the tights, though XD

  3. Pingback: [Review #62] Club Dead by Charlaine Harris | Miss Book Reviews

Comment <3

