[Giveaway] Best Of: Dystopian & Post Apocalyptic

Miss Book Reviews Six Months Old Giveaway

To celebrate my six months of blogging I wanted to look back and highlight the ‘best of’ the past six months.

Today I want to share with you the books in the Dystopian and Post Apocalyptic theme that I’ve read over the past six months and loved.
[The following books are taken from the books I’ve read and reviewed only since I started blogging]

Best of: Dystopian & Post Apocalyptic

Honestly, when I first started this blog I had barely heard of the word ‘Dystopia‘. In fact, before I had heard of The Hunger Games I had never heard of the word ‘Dystopia’, I had heard of utopia. Of course. But never the opposite. So when I discovered this theme, which could seriously now be described as it’s own genre, I was intrigued.

Six months later I’m hooked. Addicted. In love with dystopian books! I find it so interesting.

What will the world be line in a century time? A thousand years time? Ten thousand years time? What will human civilization be like? We will never know personally. And that really interests me.

Of all the Dystopian and Post apocalyptic books I’ve read the past six months my favourites have been:

The Hunger Games by Suzanne CollinsEnclave by Ann AguirreDivergent by Veronica Roth

The Hunger Games by Suzanne Collins
The book that started it all! This book was the reason I started my blog, so of course I have to add it to my list of favourites!
The Hunger Games was the book that launched me right back into reading, I had forgotten how fun books could be before I decided to pick this one up. I do have to say that I didn’t really like Catching Fire as much as this one and I liked Mockingjay a whole lot less. But The Hunger Games was one awesome book!

Enclave by Ann Aguirre
Enclave rocked my world.
Seriously.
I had no idea what I was getting myself into when I started this book. Whatever I thought I was about to read I definitely did not expect the awesomeness that is this book. A post apocalyptic world overrun by zombie like creatures with groups of humans so cut off from each other they now look different? What’s not to like if you love dystopian books?

Divergent by Veronica Roth
Divergent is one of those books that I picked up because of the hype yet I was scared that I wouldn’t like it because of the hype. Fortunately for me I went in with the expectation that my expectations would be disappointed. Meaning: This book lived up to my expectations. If you understand what I mean…
I really, really enjoyed this book! I have yet to read Insurgent purely because I’ve heard it may break my heart (Do not quote me on this, after all I haven’t read it yet…) so I’m waiting for the third book to come out so I can read it in quick succession after I’ve read Insurgent.

Under the Never Sky by Veronica RossiLegend by Marie Lu

Under the Never Sky by Veronica Rossi
This book mixes in my new favourite theme with a dash of my obsessed over genre. A dystopian book with a fantasy-adventure feel to it.
Under the Never Sky was one of those books that I loved because I was excited of the whole concept. Then I just loved it because I loved it. Who can argue with that?

Legend by Marie Lu
When I first picked up Legend I really didn’t think I would like it; It sounded too political in the summary. But I was happy to find out that it wasn’t too political at all and I ended up thoroughly enjoying it!

Have you read these books? What did you think of them?
What’s your favourite dystopian or post apocalyptic book?

And of course: Don’t forget to enter the giveaway!

Giveaway

Miss Book Reviews Six Month Old Giveaway

One winner will win ONE book up to the price of $20 USD from the Book Depository!

Just click on the button to be taken to the rafflecopter page! Or click HERE.

+ Must be thirteen years old or older.
+ Giveaway ends on November 18th 2012 (EST).
+
Open internationally as long as The Book Depository ships to you. Please check here.
+ The winner will be chosen at random by Rafflecopter.
+ The winner will be contacted via e-mail and will have 48 hours to respond.
+ I will be checking the validity of the entries :)

Miss J
x

13 thoughts on “[Giveaway] Best Of: Dystopian & Post Apocalyptic

  1. As a writer of dystopian, I’m ashamed to say that I’ve only read one of those! *hangs head in shame* But, ALL the rest are on my TBR list, and a couple of them are even on my kindle…staring at me…with unblinking, accusing eyes. At least I have a lot of good stuff to look forward to reading, right? :D Thanks for the giveaway!

  2. I never thought I would like this genre either, but I love it! From the books you listed I’ve only read The Hunger Games, but I’d love to read more books like that. ‘Under the Never Sky’ looks good!

  3. I love dystopian books! I’ve read The Hunger Games, Divergent, and Under the never sky, and other books from this genre, and I love them all!
    I choose to win Enclave by Ann Aguirre, I’ve been meaning to read it for so long! Thanks for the chance to win and congratulations to your blog! ;)

  4. Oh, “Under the Never Sky” is, no question, my favorite of all of the Dystopian books you’ve listed. I’m a Dystopian FREAK & have read a pile of them, but Veronica Rossi’s writing, to me, is poetry. The way she described Perry’s love for and devotion to his nephew – WOW…plus the world that she built, although more complicated for me to build along with her in my mind initially, was TOTALLY worth it.

    I’ve got a recommendation for you and all of your Dystopia loving followers, if you haven’t had the chance to pick it up; it’s called “The Scourge”; it’s written by a Canadian (I believe, but really irrelevant, lol) author named AG Henley. This book is so beautifully written that I wanted to crawl inside and live there, which as you will see if you ( I hope I hope) read it, wouldn’t always be an easy feat.

    Please know that I’m just an avid reader, a mom with teenagers as a matter of fact, so I honestly have nothing invested in whether or not you read this book. I just feel so strongly that you’ll love it that I’m rambling..and ya know what? I just saw that today on Amazon.com it’s FREE (at least for the Kindle download), woop! woop! I know that you’re in New Zealand, but here in the US there’s not much of today left, so I hope that you can still get it for nothing, although it’s worth paying for I promise you!

Comment <3

