Showcase Sunday #10

Showcase SundayThe aim of Showcase Sunday is to highlight our newest books or book related swag and to see what everyone else has received for review, borrowed from libraries, bought in bookshops or downloaded on to eReaders each week. Hosted by Books, Biscuits and Tea.

I haven’t done a Showcase Sunday in a few weeks because I simply haven’t had time.. I know, such a horrible excuse! In my defense I haven’t received many books either!

I bought:
Defiance by C. J. Redwine CoverCity of Lost Souls by Cassandra Clare

Defiance by C. J. Redwine
I pre-ordered this book! It sounds pretty cool, but I have heard mixed reviews so I’m going to go into it with low expectations. That way I should love it!

City of Lost Souls by Cassandra Clare
I bought it because I own the first four but I have actually only read City of Bones… I plan on reading the second book sometime soon!

Since this isn’t many books at all, I might as well share the books I got out of the library as well!

Library:
Outpost by Ann Aguirre CoverAshes by Ilsa J. Bick CoverThe Forest of Hands and Teeth by Carrie Ryan

Outpost by Ann Aguirre
I loved, loved, LOVED Enclave! So I’ve been dying to read this book! I’m half way through it now actually and it is freaking awesome! I really need to own this series.

Ashes by Ilsa J. Bick
I’m in a zombie phase, so what else can I say? I’m kind of nervous to read this book because I’ve never read anything like it. Yet at the same time I am very exciting because it sounds really good.

The Forest of Hands & Teeth by Carrie Ryan
As you can see: Zombie Phase. I’m even waiting for Alice in Zombieland! But I think I may read that one after reading something non-zombie…

What books did you add to your shelves this week?

Miss J

Check out my giveaway! Up for grabs is a book of your choice up to $20USD from the Book Depository! (INT)

22 thoughts on “Showcase Sunday #10

  1. Defiance cover looks really good! And I’m very sad to say I’ve never gotten the chance to read The Mortal Instruments no matter how much I’ve been looking forward to them… Hope you enjoy your books! :)

    My Haul

    • Defiance does sound pretty good, so I hope I like it!

      TMI series sounds interesting. Personally City of Bones was really hard for me to read and I put it down and picked it back again over the period of six months… I’ve heard the rest of the series is written a lot better though so here’s hoping!

    • I’ve only just started it! Honestly I’m finding the writing style really hard to get into and enjoy. I may just need to get used to it. It’s nothing like I expected either! Although I’m not exactly sure what I expected since when I read the summary I still wasn’t sure what this book was about haha.

      Ohh so I was reading Ashes the other night, it was around 4am and it was at a really scary part of the book. Suddenly I could hear this noise outside my room. It sounded like someone was slowly rustling through our garden or going through our recycling bin… I freaked out! All I could think of was zombies or something hahaha. It turned out to be a possum… I decided to go to bed then because I was too scared to continue reading.

      Halloween will be much more of me getting frightened easily since I will be reading these books…

      Thanks! You too :)

    • Ohh darn so I loved Ashes but at the same time there were quite a few things that I really, really did not like about it. I was hoping that Shadows would make me like it even more :/

  2. DEFIANCE! I’m super excited to read this. I’ve been seeing mixed reviews, too… but I’m kind of hopeful? I seriously think going in without crazy expectations is crucial. And, uh, Forest of Hands and Teeth? *shivers* It is such a good book. And SO sad :O

    • I’m hopeful as well! It sounds like it could be good and now that I know it may not be as good as I originally thought I may like it even more since my expectations have been lowered. Here’s hoping!

      Ohh sad?! Hmm I’ve just started it and I’ve had a feeling that something will happen that will make me incredibly sad :(

  3. Ooh, TMI is really fun. I particularly liked the first three in the series. I still have read City of Lost Souls, though, even though I own the book. I’m also excited for the movie next year!

    Happy reading :)

Comment <3

