The Year Of: 2012

The Year od: 2012

Oh 2012 you have been a reading delight!

I started my blog in March thinking this would be something fun to do when I was bored. Little did I realise that blogging would be ridiculously addictive, that there were just so many books I really wanted needed to read, and that there are some awesome people on the internet.

Before I started this blog I actually had no idea how many books were out there that I didn’t know about, I never realised goodreads was the place to be to discover new reads, I used to go to the library and wander down the aisles looking for a title that would peak my interest. Yeah…

Since I’ve started Miss Book Reviews I’ve read and found so many exciting books and series’ that I absolutely love. So I’ve decided to compile my ten favourite books/series that I’ve reviewed this year.
(Please note: This list only refers to the books that I have read and posted a review for on my blog)

2012 Top Ten favourites!

Ashes by Ilsa J. Bick 10. Ashes by Ilsa J. Bick

This book brought chills to my spine, it scared the hell out of me and made me want to start planning for an apocalypse that happens to have flesh eating zombies. It was scary, heart breaking, exciting, different and more than about zombies; it focused more on the survival to live. There were a few things about this book that utterly irked me but this made my top 10 because of how exciting, chilling and awesome it was. I still think about this book.

Across the Universe by Beth Revis 9. Across the Universe by Beth Revis

If you’ve been following my blog for a while you would know that I absolutely love science fiction books set in space. I love space, it’s interesting, exciting and scary at the same time.

So naturally I would really like this series. I have to admit I loved A Million Suns more than Across the Universe. It’s more of a mystery rather than the science fiction space adventure I had imagined it to be when I first read the summary but I still really like this series! I am so excited for Shades of Earth and have already pre-ordered it!

Grave Mercy by Robin LaFevers 8. Grave Mercy by Robin LaFevers

I loved this book for many reasons: First being it was about assassin nuns, second I liked the era it was set in and third the saint they worshipped was the saint of death, and that sounds pretty cool. The book itself was a great, fun read. I highly enjoyed it! I’ve always quite liked books in this genre so I was happy to find it and equally happy that I loved it.

Divergent by Veronica Roth 7. Divergent by Veronica Roth

Loved, loved, loved this book! I have yet to read Insurgent but Divergent was just awesome.

This was the second dystopian I have ever read, The Hunger Games was the first.

I loved Divergent, I thought it was exciting and I just thoroughly enjoyed reading it.

Enclave by Ann Aguirre

6. Enclave by Ann Aguirre

When I first read Enclave I didn’t expect to love it as much as I did. The only reason I picked it up was because everyone was saying you had to read it. And so I did. Boy was I glad I listened to everyone else because I absolutely loved this book and I highly enjoyed it’s sequel Outpost as well.

Before this book I had never read a zombie book before. This doesn’t have zombies in it but the creatures that are featured sure sound like zombies since they eat warm flesh. This book was exciting and left me flipping through the pages as fast as I could, it took me a while to get used to the writing style but once I did I devoured this book as fast as I could.

This series is very entertaining and I’m dying to read the last book in this series!

Cinder by Marissa Meyer 5. Cinder by Marissa Meyer

As I’ve already stated; I love science fiction books, and my favourite fairytale is Cinderella. So how could I not absolutely love Cinder?! This book was everything I was excited for as soon as I heard about it. It was fun, exciting and a refreshing futuristic spin of the original tale. I loved reading this and bought it as soon as I heard about it. I am way too excited for its sequel!

Under the Never Sky by Veronica Rossi

4. Under the Never Sky by Veronica Rossi

This book was a mix between my favourite genres; adventure, fantasy, and dystopian. I seriously liked Under the Never Sky because I hadn’t really read anything like it before. It had me wrapped around its pages and I found it difficult to put down.

I just loved how much fun it was to read!

Dead Until Dark by Charlaine Harris 3. The Sookie Stackhouse series by Charlaine Harris

I have loved, been addicted too and thoroughly enjoyed this series since I picked up book one. This comes in at third place because I’ve realised I read these books when I want to be entertained, then when I pick it up I find it hard to put back down again. Sookie has gone through so much since I have read book one and I’ve loved every minute of reading it. I’ve grown attached to the world, the characters and the drama that seems to constantly follow Sookie.

I’ve reviewed books 1-3 so far but have read up to book 7. It will be a sad day when I finish this series for good, a day I am not eagerly awaiting.

Unearthly by Cynthia Hand 2. Unearthly by Cynthia Hand

When I first read Unearthly I was blown away. I hadn’t had much hope for it as Angel books never seemed to go well with me, but when I started reading this it instantly became my favourite read of 2012. That was back in March. I’m shocked to say that one series pushed it’s way past this one because this series was just amazing to read.

I loved Clara, I loved  Tucker and I loved the twist! I loved that it didn’t shove religion down my throat (Something not many angel themed books achieve). I loved the location it was set in – the location was beautiful and made me want to move to such a place. I loved so many things about this book.

I have only read this first book of this series because I’ve heard that the second book, Hallowed, breaks your heart, so I decided to hold off on reading the second book until it is possible to read book three.

Graceling by Kristin Cashore1. Graceling Realm by Kristin Cashore

This is my all time favourite series that I read in 2012! Granted I haven’t read the final book yet, but the first two had me captivated.

What I loved most about Graceling was that Katsa was very kick-ass, the romance took time to develop and the pacing of the story had me flipping through the pages extremely fast. I loved the whole story.

I never realised Fire was a companion novel to Graceling until I began reading it, sufficed to say that I was very confused until I realised this. Fire was exciting in it’s own right, the idea, the land, and Fire herself. I loved every minute of it.

This series is just brilliant and I always recommend it to anyone that asks what they should read next.

Special Mentions

The Hunger Games by Suzanne Collins
This didn’t make the top ten list because while I loved the first book in the series, I only liked the second book and very mildly liked the last book in the series.
The Girl of Fire and Thorns by Rae Carson
This was a pretty amazing book but I read it in one sitting because I felt like if I put it down I really wasn’t going to pick it back up, it felt a little long winded in parts. I’m glad I got through it though and can’t wait to have time to read the next book in the series.

Legend by Marie Lu
I really enjoyed this book (Yet to read the second in the series) and I felt like this should go in the special mentions because it was entertaining and I had fun reading it. It just didn’t quite make my list.

Overall, 2012 was a successful year of reading for me! I’m not so sure it was a successful year in other areas but that’s a whole other story.

I hope you all had a lovely, fun-filled and memorable year!

Miss J
xx

P.S. New layout! It’s a pretty simple layout, I just got very bored of the old one. As you do.

10 thoughts on “The Year Of: 2012

  1. I’m listening to Cinder right now via audiobook. I’m not really into Science Fiction, but decided to give this a try. I must say, I’m loving it! So glad I gave Cinder a try.

  2. I really enjoyed Under the Never Sky, too; I borrowed it from the library earlier in the year but finally gave in and bought a copy yesterday. And I agree 100% with everything you said about Unearthly! A HUGE thank you for recommending it! I did get teary while reading Hallowed, so I’m kind of steeling myself for Boundless. I hope you have a very Happy 2013! :)

    • I’m glad you loved Unearthly as much as I did! No problem :) I still need to buy Under the Never Sky, I got a few vouchers for Christmas so I think I will use them to get it and a couple of other books that I’ve read and really loved!

    • Ohh you definitely need to give the Graceling Realm series a go! It is such an amazing series. I loved everything about the first two books, the writing, the setting, the story, the characters, the pace. I absolutely loved it.

  3. I’ve read a few of them, but I haven’t gotten around to Under the Never Sky, Ashes, or Enclaved. I’ve also only read the first book in the Sookie Stackhouse series. I’m glad to see they made your top ten – I’ll look forward to read them. I’m hoping I get to them this year. =)

Comment <3

