The Year Ahead!

The Year of 2013It’s finally 2013!

Are you surprised we made it here? With all the hype of the world ending in 2012 and all…

For the past nine months there have been books that I’ve been saying that I can’t wait to read, yet I still haven’t read them due to continuely pushing it down the to-be-read list. So I decided that I have to tackle them this year!

Here’s a list of books that I plan on finally getting to at some stage this year:
(Pictures of books that aren’t shown are books in the series that I’ve already read!)

Entwined by Heather Dixon
Entwined by Heather Dixon

The Mortal Instruments series by Cassandra Clare
City of Ashes by Cassandra ClareCity of Glass by Cassandra ClareCity of Fallen Angels by Cassandra ClareCity of Lost Souls by Cassandra Clare

The Infernal Devices series by Cassandra Clare
Clockwork Angel by Cassandra ClareClockwork Prince by Cassandra ClareClockwork Princess by Cassandra Clare

Bloodlines series by Richelle Mead
Bloodlines by Richelle Mead
The Golden Lily by Richelle MeadThe Indigo Spell by Richelle Mead

Shadow Falls series by C. C. Hunter
Born at Midnight by C. C. HunterAwake at Dawn by C. C. HunterTaken at Dusk by C. C. HunterWhispers at Moonrise by C. C. HunterChosen at Nightfall by C. C. Hunter

Maze Runner series by James Dashner
The Maze Runner by James DashnerThe Scorch Trials by James DashnerThe Death Cure by James Dashner

Partials Sequence series by Dan Wells
Partials by Dan WellsFragments by Dan Wells

Something Strange and Deadly series by Susan Dennard
Something Strange and Deadly by Susan DennardA Darkness Strange and Lovely by Susan Dennard

Throne of Glass series by Sarah J. Maas
Throne of Glass by Sarah J. Maas

Penryn & the End of Days series by Susan Ee
Angelfall by Susan Ee

Study series by Maria V. Snyder
Poison Study by Maria V. SnyderMagic Study by Maria V. SnyderFire Study by Maria V. Snyder

The Hallowed Ones series by Laura Bickle
The Hallowed Ones by Laura Bickle

Sevenwaters series by Juliet Marillier
Heir to Sevenwaters by Juliet MarillierSeer of Sevenwaters by Juliet MarillierFlame of Sevenwaters by Juliet Marillier

Shadowfell series by Juliet Marillier
Shadowfell by Juliet MarillierRaven Flight by Juliet Marillier

Anna series by Kendare Blake
Anna Dressed in Blood by Kendare BlakeGirl of Nightmares by Kendare Blake

That’s a lot of books I need to get to before I even start new releases!

What books do you want to tackle this year?

Miss J
xx

20 thoughts on “The Year Ahead!

    • I’m pretty excited to read these, I never wanted to read Anna before because I scare easily. But then I started reading scary zombie books and now I crave the thrill!
      Entwined has been on my list since I started blogging! I can’t believe I still haven’t gotten to it…

    • Awesome! I hope I will love them too. I’ve read City of Bones and I found the writing very tedious to get through but I’ve heard the books are written better and better as the series goes on, so I’m excited to see how I go!

  1. I have a lot of these to read as well though I’m not sure I’ll get through them all this year. I’ve only got to Anna Dressed in Blood, Partials and Throne of Glass. I enjoyed all three, I hope you do too.

    • Thanks :) Yeah, looking at the list I’m wondering how long it will take me to read these! Especially since I’ve cut down my posts to one a week now o_o

    • I am anticipating that I will love the Bloodlines series! I loved the Vampire Academy series a lot haha.

      I’ve read three out of the four Throne of Glass novellas and haven’t liked them at all, but only due to characterisation. Which I assume will be a lot better in Throne of Glass since there will be room for Celaena to grow and become likeable. I’m just trying to debate whether I should push my way through the last novella or just read Throne of Glass!

      Thanks :)

  2. You’ve got some fabulous books on this list! You absolutely must pick up the rest of The Mortal Instruments series soon, although I have yet to pick up The Infernal Devices as well. ;) I really enjoyed the Maze Runner series, and same goes for Anna Dressed in Blood!

    Enjoy all of these books, and I hope you manage to get to them all! <3

    • I’ve had the MI series on my shelf for a year haha. It took me about six months to read City of Bones though because I found the writing gave me a headache, but I hope to complete reading the books that have been published this year. Hopefully that will happen!

      Anna Dressed in Blood sounds really scary o_o But lately I’ve wanted the thrill of being scared!

      I can’t wait to dive into these books!

  3. I definitely need to read Entwined. I’ve wanted to read it for what feels like forever, but just haven’t gotten to yet.

    TMI and TID are fun series. I hope you enjoy them. I’m very excited for the City of Bones movie.

    Good luck!

    • Omg Entwined has been on my list since I first heard about it! I too can’t believe I haven’t gotten to it yet! I just keep on pushing it down the list for some silly reason :( Hopefully I’ll get to it soon though. Most of these books are next on my to be read list, so it’s just a matter of getting time to read them.

      The City of Bones movie looks awesome in my opinion! I think it looks better than the actual book… but that’s because I found reading the City of Bones rather tedious :/ I’m hoping I will enjoy the rest of the series a lot more though!

      Thank you :)

  4. Awesome picks! Good luck on your goal!

    Okay, I’m just going to pick one trilogy and TOTALLY fangirl to you about them.

    The Infernal Devices. Hello? BEST. THING. EVER. I MEAN, IT’S THE BEST SERIES CASSIE HAS WRITTEN IN MY OPINION. SERIOUSLY WILL OMG HE IS SO SO SO SO SO VERY ROMANTIC AND BROKEN AND AHHHHHHHHHHHH *fangirls* *screams* *runs away* *comes back* *flails*

    I’m good.

    But seriously, if it were up to me I’d totally push you towards that book first, just saying lol ;P

    Good luck and I hope you can read them all! It’d be perfect to read Cassie Clare’s books before the City of Bones movie comes out! Then you’d be an expert at Shadowhunting!

    • Haha I love your comments Eileen, they’re always so energetic.

      Hmm okay based on this comment I’ve decided I will read The Infernal Devices pretty soon! Glad to see someone loved it like crazy!

      Thanks :) The City of Bones movie looks awesome!

  5. Happy New Year Miss J! :)
    Funny, you and I have the exact same problem. Most of the series you mentioned are series I have said I can’t wait to read, and yet they keep falling on the totem pole of reads! So that is also my goal for 2013. To catch up and curl up with each one of these books!!!

    Lily

  6. What a great list of books you have up there! Entwined was an amazing read by the way as well as the Maze Runner series :D Oh and Something Strange & Deadly too ;) Hope you get them and read them all soon <3

    xoxo, Mariam @Book-A-Holic

    • I’m excited to finally get to these! Entwined looks cool, I’ve heard the Maze Runner is really good and I can’t wait to get to Something Strange & Deadly! I have a thing for zombie books at the moment.

      Thanks :)

  7. I see a lot of great titles there! Entwined is a very nice book; one of my favorite retellings from the twelve dancing princesses so far! Throne of Glass was one of the best books I’ve read in 2012. The hallowed ones sound great and I love the books from Juliet Marillier <3 Such a gifted author.

    I recently finished the first three books from the Mortal Instruments. The first two were good, the last one not really.

    Anna & Study are also on my TBR pile. Happy reading! :D

    Mel@thedailyprophecy.

    • I quite like the twelve dancing princesses retelling’s as well, I haven’t read many but as of so far my favourite is Wildwood Dancing, so I can’t wait to get into Entwined!

      Ohh really? I’m excited to get to Throne of Glass. Have you read the novellas? I started with them but I dislike Celaena so much in them that I’m finding it hard to get to the last novella. I think I might skip it and go straight to the book. But then I think ‘It’s only one novella and it’s the last one!’ and think I should give it a go… So I keep pushing Throne of Glass back because of that…

      I love Juliet Marillier too! I love nearly all of her books!

      Hmm yeah I’m having trouble getting into The Mortal Instruments series. I’ve read City of Bones but it took me six months because I kept putting it down then picking it back up again. I’m not a fan of her writing, it gave me a headache! Much like a headache I would get when I get motion sickness… But I’m determined to push through her books, just because of the hype.

      Anna looks scary! I’m excited to read it!

Comment <3

