[Review #66] The Immortal Rules by Julie Kagawa

The Immortal Rules by Julie Kagawa Cover - Review Title: The Immortal Rules
Series: Blood of Eden
Book one
Author: Julie Kagawa
Published: 24th April, 2012
Publisher: Harlequin Teen
Genre: Paranormal romance, dystopian
Young Adult
Rating: 
[Goodreads | Amazon | Book Depository | Whitcoulls NZ]

Summary

“In a future world, vampires reign. Humans are blood cattle. And one girl will search for the key to save humanity.”

Allison Sekemoto survives in the Fringe, the outermost circle of a vampire city. By day, she and her crew scavenge for food. By night, any one of them could be eaten.

Some days, all that drives Allie is her hatred of “them.” The vampires who keep humans as blood cattle. Until the night Allie herself is attacked–and given the ultimate choice. Die…or become one of the monsters.

Faced with her own mortality, Allie becomes what she despises most. To survive, she must learn the rules of being immortal, including the most important: go long enough without human blood, and you will go mad.

Then Allie is forced to flee into the unknown, outside her city walls. There she joins a ragged band of humans who are seeking a legend–a possible cure to the disease that killed off most of humankind and created the rabids, the mindless creatures who threaten humans and vampires alike.

But it isn’t easy to pass for human. Especially not around Zeke, who might see past the monster inside her. And Allie soon must decide what–and who–is worth dying for.

Review

The Immortal Rules had been sitting on my shelf for around six months before I got the chance to read it. I don’t know why I didn’t read this earlier because I loved this book!

The Immortal Rules is a post apocalyptic set in a dystopian world where vampires rule in their vampire cities, humans are their food and that is that. Outside the vampire city are other monsters entirely. The Rabids are crazed flesh eating creatures that rise at night, so living outside of a vampire city seems impossible.

Allison Sekemoto is a girl that hates vampires, she thinks they are monsters but when she’s about to die a vampire gives her a choice; die forever or become a vampire and live. She chooses to live, no matter that she will become one of the monsters she so despises. Allison’s maker teaches her the vampire ways; how to feed, how to hunt, the vampire laws in the hierarchy. 

I loved this book for many reasons. The obvious one being that I highly enjoyed it. The Immortal Rules is more than a post apocalyptic or a paranormal romance. Allison is a very likeable character. She is strong yet imperfect. Through the whole book we watch her struggle with the monster inside, I loved that she was tortured this way. She was interesting, she wasn’t a goodie two shoes, she had her own opinions, followed her own rules and tried to stop becoming the monster she despised.

This book was fast paced and had me hanging on the whole time. The world was very interesting and I found it so thoroughly intriguing that the world alone made me want to continue reading. It was just so interesting, I wanted to know more and more about everything.

Overall this book was very enjoyable and I am very excited for book two in the series!

Miss J

18 thoughts on “[Review #66] The Immortal Rules by Julie Kagawa

    • I tend to buy books and then leave them sitting on my shelf for ages because I keep getting books out at the library that need to be read before returned… I’m glad I finally picked this one up though!

      Glad to hear you’re enjoying it!

  1. WOW!! I’ve been having this in my TBR since forever and I need to get it! Knowing that you loved it assured me, I enjoy reading about strong yet imperfect main characters too :D Greak review!

    Book a World

    • Imperfect characters make reading so much more enjoyable because there’s room for them to develop. And I love seeing characters grow. I hope you enjoy this book when you get to it!

    • That is the perfect way of putting it! This book definitely feels like it’s a new twist to the over-done vampire plot. I hope you enjoy it when you get to it :)

  2. Pingback: [Review #86] The Eternity Cure by Julie Kagawa | Miss Book Reviews

Comment <3

