[Review #74] Warm Bodies by Isaac Marion

Warm Bodies by Isaac Marion - Review - Zombie Title: Warm Bodies
Series: Warm Bodies
Book one
Author: Isaac Marion
Genre: Paranormal Romance-ish
Young Adult
Rating: 
[Goodreads]

Summary

‘R’ is a zombie. He has no name, no memories and no pulse, but he has dreams. He is a little different from his fellow Dead.

Amongst the ruins of an abandoned city, R meets a girl. Her name is Julie and she is the opposite of everything he knows – warm and bright and very much alive, she is a blast of colour in a dreary grey landscape. For reasons he can’t understand, R chooses to save Julie instead of eating her, and a tense yet strangely tender relationship begins.

This has never happened before. It breaks the rules and defies logic, but R is no longer content with life in the grave. He wants to breathe again, he wants to live, and Julie wants to help him. But their grim, rotting world won’t be changed without a fight…

Review

Warm Bodies is a sweet post apocalyptic romance that just so happened to have a zombie as the main character.

R is a zombie. He has no memory of his life before he became one of the walking dead that now rule the world, he does not even remember how he was turned. But from the lack of injury to his body he figures he turned by natural causes and not too long ago as he hasn’t started decomposing yet. The only thing R can remember is that his name has something to do with an R; therefore he has held onto that bit of humanity and kept something of his name from his previous life.

One day when he goes out hunting, among the group of humans he and a group of other zombies are currently in the middle of eating, he discovers a girl. After just having devoured her partner, for reasons he can’t comprehend then and there, he decides to save her rather than eat her. And so his zombie life changes.

The main thing I liked about Warm Bodies was the humour; the blunt, dark humour. I found myself laughing out loud many times while reading this. R was an interesting and likeable narrator and to be honest that is the main reason I was able to finish this book. At the times I wondered where the story was going and what the story was even about his narration kept me reading.

Warm Bodies was sweet in places, scary in others and sometimes downright creepy. Yet I still found myself enjoying this. That was all. I didn’t love this and I didn’t hate this, I simply enjoyed this. It isn’t action packed or filled with graphic horror scenes, it’s about a zombie just trying to figure out why he isn’t happy in his life and why he has taken an interest in his food.

I recommend Warm Bodies to anyone wanting to read a post apocalyptic zombie novel that is more on the romantic comedy side rather than the horror side. It was sweet, super quick to read, and humorous – an enjoyable light read!

Miss J

13 thoughts on “[Review #74] Warm Bodies by Isaac Marion

        • I have a feeling I’m going to like the movie more too. It looks like it translated to screen better than in words…

          Warm Bodies hasn’t come out here in New Zealand yet! Typical. NZ sometimes gets movies a year after they were released in America! How crazy is that? Usually we get them a few weeks after it’s release in America though, it depends on the hype I think. For example we have yet to receive The Perks of Being a Wallflower… I’m can’t wait to see that one. Then sometimes we get the movies first because they want to ‘audience test’ it. For example we’re getting Iron Man 3 a week before it’s American release. I find this so interesting. I work in a cinema so that’s how I know this haha.

  1. I’ve been dying to see the movie, I’ve heard it’s pretty good. The book sounds good too, but I’ll probably read it after seeing the movie first. It’s good that it has humor too, cause I’m not a big super-scary zombie fan.

    • Yay, I can’t wait to see it! We get it here in NZ in two weeks. It looks good. This book is definitely not a scary zombie book. It’s funny, sometimes sappy, and cute. I wasn’t scared at all when I read this book. It wasn’t as exciting, thrilling or action packed as I kind of expected after seeing the trailer. But movies are always translated to screen differently.

  2. Now that the film is out, reviews for WARM BODIES have been popping up everywhere! I’m glad that you enjoyed this overall, Jordon. I’ve always loved zombie books, but so far have never read one as humorous and entertaining as WARM BODIES sounds. Also – sweet, scary, and creepy at the same time? Not to mention the laugh-out-loud humor! I really must get my hands on this book soon. :)

    Great review!

  3. Pingback: [Discussion] To DNF, or not to DNF: that is the question | Miss Book Reviews

  4. Pingback: [Review #76] Shadowfell by Juliet Marillier | Miss Book Reviews

  5. Pingback: Feature and Follow #9 | Miss Book Reviews

  6. Pingback: [Review #77] Eon by Alison Goodman | Miss Book Reviews

  7. Pingback: Feature and Follow #10: Reader Conventions | Miss Book Reviews

  8. Pingback: [Review #78] A Shade of Vampire by Bella Forrest | Miss Book Reviews

Comment <3

