[Review #79] Demon Glass by Rachel Hawkins

Demonglass by Rachel Hawkins Cover - Review Title: Demon Glass
Series: Hex Hall
Book two
Author: Rachel Hawkins
Genre: Paranormal Romance
Young Adult
Rating: 
[Goodreads | Book Depository]

Summary

Sophie Mercer thought she was a witch. 

That was the whole reason she was sent to Hex Hall, a reform school for delinquent Prodigium (aka witches, shapeshifters, and fairies). But that was before she discovered the family secret, and that her hot crush, Archer Cross, is an agent for The Eye, a group bent on wiping Prodigium off the face of the earth.

Turns out, Sophie’s a demon, one of only two in the world—the other being her father. What’s worse, she has powers that threaten the lives of everyone she loves. Which is precisely why Sophie decides she must go to London for the Removal, a dangerous procedure that will destroy her powers.

But once Sophie arrives she makes a shocking discovery. Her new friends? They’re demons too. Meaning someone is raising them in secret with creepy plans to use their powers, and probably not for good. Meanwhile, The Eye is set on hunting Sophie down, and they’re using Archer to do it. But it’s not like she has feelings for him anymore. Does she?

Review

I thought it was high time I picked up the second book in this series since I loved Hex Hall and read that quite a while a go.

Demon Glass is set at Thorne Abbey in London. Sophie’s father persuades her to spend the summer with him there, Sophie agrees under the condition that her best friend Jenna is allowed to go with her. Her father agrees, he also makes Cal go along with them as the council want to see the extent of his white which healing powers.

I definitely enjoyed Demon Glass. It was different to Hex Hall but it was the same with the exciting plot line and had me trying to figure out what on earth was going on. That’s the main thing I loved about this book. I didn’t know what was going on until Sophie figured it out herself.

I have to say that I was rather disappointed with the romance in this book. Sophie is admitting to herself that she’s in love with Archer at the beginning of this book but I’m not convinced that she is. In Hex Hall I mentioned that I felt like their romance was insta-love. In this book we get to see Archer but he and Sophie are admitting their feelings for each other pretty much straight off the bat, and that annoyed me only because I really didn’t feel like they had a connection. Also there was a love triangle which felt forced, out of the blue and unnecessary. Therefore I wished the romance hadn’t played such a huge part in this book because I really wasn’t sold on it.

Besides all of this the ending of Demon Glass was shocking and I really need to know what happens next. So I will definitely be picking up book three!

Similar: Vampire Academy, Half-Blood, Born at Midnight, Marked

Miss J
x

5 thoughts on “[Review #79] Demon Glass by Rachel Hawkins

    • It kind of sucks about the romance because I really enjoyed Hex Hall but the romance is the one thing that is making me roll my eyes about this book.

  1. I loved the Hex Hall books! What sold me, actually, was Sophie’s humor. And Archer was this funny guy who wasn’t broody at all (something that is hard to come by since the Edward Cullen Mode was activated in YA books). Although I have to agree that the I-love-you’s happened too fast. Having strong feelings for someone is one thing, being in love with them is another. And this Cal guy really pissed me off for some reason… I guess I was rooting for Archer too much :D

    I think you might enjoy the third book more than this one… Sophie is a badass and Archer is in on the action. Great review!

    • I liked Sophie’s humour too! Haha I was rooting for Cal all the way! Archer was the one that annoyed me more. But by the end of this book Cal was also annoying me because I felt like he had no reason to really fall for Sophie… It felt like insta-love. Again. I liked Cal but I didn’t like the forced love triangle, it was obvious Sophie would choose Archer over Cal any day. Therefore making the triangle invalid.

  2. Pingback: [Sunday Catch Up] April 22nd – 28th | Miss Book Reviews

Comment <3

