[Review #83] Eona by Alison Goodman

Eona by Alison Goodman Cover - Review Title: Eona
Series: Eon
Book two
Author: Alison Goodman
Genre: High Fantasy
Young Adult
Rating: 
[Goodreads | Book Depository]

Summary

Eon has been revealed as Eona, the first female Dragoneye in hundreds of years. Along with fellow rebels Ryko and Lady Dela, she is on the run from High Lord Sethon’s army. The renegades are on a quest for the black folio, stolen by the drug-riddled Dillon; they must also find Kygo, the young Pearl Emperor, who needs Eona’s power and the black folio if he is to wrest back his throne from the selfstyled “Emperor” Sethon.

Through it all, Eona must come to terms with her new Dragoneye identity and power – and learn to bear the anguish of the ten dragons whose Dragoneyes were murdered. As they focus their power through her, she becomes a dangerous conduit for their plans. . . .

Review

After reading Eon I was pretty excited to start Eona as I wanted to see what happened next in this fascinating world.

Eona starts days after where Eon left off. Eona is with the resistance and trying to find Prince Kygo, hoping he is still alive. This book is filled with dragons and mythology that I loved to read about. I love the dragons in this series, the pearls and the dragoneyes are fascinating.

Although I felt like it was missing pieces. I felt like there were things that weren’t explained or were built up but at the end were shrugged off with a mention as if we hadn’t been waiting for it to happen. There were a lot of things mentioned in this book yet I felt like it dragged on and was rather slow. The pacing seemed off. Nothing was happening fast enough.

I have to admit that I didn’t quite like Eona in this at all. Her decisions and thought processes annoyed me, she was very self centred and selfish in this book which took me by surprise. Although when it comes down to the events taking place it makes sense that Eona changed this way. I also came to not like Kygo. It felt weird as I really liked these two characters in the first book.

While there were these few issues for me, Eona was still a fascinating book to read and I’m glad I got to see the end.

In Summary:
– I loved the mythology and the dragons, the world was interesting.
– While the story was interesting it felt like it dragged in places, the pace was slower than I wanted.
– I liked Eona and Kygo in Eon but as this story progressed I felt like Eon became more self centred and selfish and Kygo just wasn’t as interesting or likeable to me.
– I liked the story but felt like I liked book one more than this book.

Similar: Bitterblue | Shadow and Bone | Grave Mercy | The Girl of Fire and Thorns

Miss J

9 thoughts on “[Review #83] Eona by Alison Goodman

  1. I haven’t read these books, though I know I’ve thought about it before. I’m not sure if I will though. Or maybe if I do, just stop with book one? I think it sucks when you like a character in one book but then are disappointed or left wanting more in another one. It’s just not fair!

    • Yeah, I was a little disappointed. The first book was really good and built up the expectation that this book would be explosive, but it really didn’t get there. I was pretty disappointed :/

  2. Pingback: [Sunday Catch Up] May 6th – May 12th | Miss Book Reviews

  3. I enjoyed Eon, but Eona was a huge disappointment to me :( I really hated the things that happened here. Also, I just hated Kyogo and Eona became a… people user. And yes, she was SO selfish. And I agree, it was slow.
    I wanted to read(&love) it so much, because I love dragons and am a huge fan of Asian inspired stories, but sadly it didn’t work out that way :(

    Great review!

    • Yes! Eona definitely became a people user.

      Same here, I really expected to loved this one because Eon was so interesting. But then this book the opposite direction. I was disappointed.

Comment <3

