[Review #84] Awake at Dawn by C. C. Hunter

Awake at Dawn by C. C. Hunter Cover - Review - Book two of Shadow Falls series Title: Awake at Dawn
Series: Shadow Falls
Book two
Author: C. C. Hunter
Genre: Paranormal Romance
Young Adult
Rating: 
[Goodreads | Book Depository]
Note: You can get book one AND book two in the same book for less price! [See here at the Book Depository]

Summary

From the moment Kylie Galen arrived at Shadow Falls Camp, she’s had one burning question: What am I? Surrounded by vampires, werewolves, shape-shifters, fairies and witches, Kylie longs to figure out her own supernatural identity…and what her burgeoning powers mean. And now she’ll need them more than ever, because she’s being haunted by a new spirit who insists that someone Kylie knows—and loves—will die before the end of the summer. If only she only knew who she was supposed to save. And how…

But giving Kylie the most trouble is her aching heart. Gorgeous werewolf Lucas left camp with another girl, but he’s still visiting Kylie in her dreams. And Derek, a sexy half Fae who’s always been there for her when she needed him, is pushing to get more serious—and growing impatient, especially when Lucas returns. Kylie knows she needs to decide between the boys, and it’s tearing her up inside. 

Yet romance will have to wait, because something from the dark side of the supernatural world is hiding in Shadow Falls. It’s about to threaten everything she holds dear…and bring her closer to her destiny.

Review

I absolutely loved the first book in this series; Born at Midnight. Awake at Dawn was just as awesome! I’m already addicted to this series and trying really hard not to read all the books in one go.

This book was crazy addictive, I didn’t want to put it down. 

I love that these books have plot layers. Well I’m not sure if that’s what it’s called but what I mean is that Kylie has different things to deal with, it isn’t just one straight plot line. For example in this book Kylie had to deal with the ghost that was constantly appearing and telling her she had to save someone but couldn’t tell her anything else, she had to deal with the situation with her mother and fathers divorce, she had to deal with her feelings for Derek and Lucas, she had to deal with trying to find out what she was and then there was the fact that weird things were happening at the camp but they were so subtle no one put it together until it was too late. So you see, there’s more than just one thing going on which made me feel satisfied with this book. It didn’t for one minute feel like something was missing, because there was just so much going on that it kept you entertained.

I do have to be honest that the romances are really starting to get annoying. Kylie keeps bouncing between Derek and Lucas; and Lucas isn’t even at the camp. Kylie just can’t stop thinking about him which leads her to feeling guilty every time she’s with Derek. Which then leads her to avoiding dealing with her real feelings. The whole thing gets frustratingly annoying. I feel that the romance between her and Lucas is more insta-love though, I kind of wish Lucas would stop declaring his feelings for her as I don’t feel like they’ve spent an efficient amount of time together for him to be telling her that he likes her. Especially since in the last book he mostly avoided her like the plague.

Awake at Dawn was a very entertaining and exciting book. Well, why have you only given this book four red clubs you ask? You see I definitely loved this book and I’m very excited to read the next book, but there was one thing that utterly annoyed me. It annoyed me so much that it brought the rating down one whole club. And that annoyance was: the way Kylie dealt with everything. She avoided or ignored clues that were obvious to me, she ignored the way she felt, she avoided everything. She mentions that knows she’s avoiding things but that she just doesn’t want to deal with it then and there. I figured out half of the reveal way before she did, although I was pretty impressed that there was whole other half of the reveal that I was completely clueless on.

I thoroughly enjoyed Awake at Dawn and definitely recommend reading this series if you’re after a good YA paranormal romance.

In Summary:
– I loved that this book had layers to the plot that kept the story in a constant state of suspense. It made the book a page turner.
– The romance was teetering on the edges of annoying because Kylie couldn’t make up her mind and was constantly bouncing between Derek and Lucas.
– Kylie avoided every issue that she had and it became frustrating, although by the end I was okay about this.
– I am crazy addicted to this series and can’t wait to read the next book!

Miss J
x 

10 thoughts on “[Review #84] Awake at Dawn by C. C. Hunter

  1. GHOSTS! God, I’ve been trying to find a good book about ghosts for a long time. Although the love problems do sound irritating… eh, if the story is good I’ll probably be able to ignore it. I’ve seen those books around Goodreads but I read a lot of negative reviews, too… I think yours is the only positive I’ve read so far (silly me, not looking at other reviews, too). I think I’ll definitely read the first book!

    • I’m definitely looking for more paranormal romances about ghosts! I find this idea really cool and at the same time it hasn’t come across as scare-the-crap-out-of-me, which is good. Because this stuff does scare the crap out of me.

      Yeahh, the triangle is rather annoying, I really hope it settles down in book four. It doesn’t in book three…

      I definitely recommend this for when you want to read a paranormal romance. When I first started this series I actually thought it was going to be bad because I too had see a lot of negative reviews and only a few good ones. But then in the end I obviously really enjoyed it and got into the story!

      • The only books about ghosts I’ve read (that I remember right now) are Kendare Blake’s Anna books. And they were great, because kick ass characters + ghosts = happy reader : D

        This does sound like a good book, so I think I’ll really read it soon.

  2. I’ve actually never heard of this series! I had to check out the Goodreads page and I’m even more curious about it just because it seems to be a series people either love or hate. I only worry that I’d hate it just because it’s a paranormal romance, but based on your review, it seems it has much more going on that just the romance aspect. I’ll have to keep this in mind!

    • I’m definitely one of those people that is in love with this series! But I have seen a lot of reviews saying they didn’t enjoy it. I do have to warn you though, there’s a frustratingly annoying love triangle. That is this series only downfall for me. I’m managing to pretend it doesn’t matter while I read these though lol.

  3. Pingback: [Sunday Catch Up] May 13th – May 26th | Miss Book Reviews

  4. Pingback: [Review #87] Taken at Dusk by C. C. Hunter | Miss Book Reviews

Comment <3

