[Review #85] Shadows by Ilsa J. Bick

Shadows by Ilsa J. Bick Cover - Review - Book two in the Ashes Trilogy Title: Shadows
Series: Ashes
Book two
Author: Ilsa J. Bick
Genre: Apocalyptic
Young Adult
Rating: 
[Goodreads | Book Depository]

Summary

The Apocalypse does not end. The Changed will grow in numbers. The Spared may not survive.

Even before the EMPs brought down the world, Alex was on the run from the demons of her past and the monster living in her head. After the world was gone, she believed Rule could be a sanctuary for her and those she’d come to love.

But she was wrong.

Now Alex is in the fight of her life against the adults, who would use her, the survivors, who don’t trust her, and the Changed, who would eat her alive.

Review

Honestly? I was incredibly excited about Shadows. I loved Ashes and even though I felt like the last half of Ashes wasn’t even half as exciting as the first half of the book, I was expecting Shadows to up the game and be a whole lot better.

What I got wasn’t close to my expectations. I was incredibly disappointed.

The pace of Shadows felt a lot slower which lead me to getting bored rather often. There were definitely exciting action scenes that had me turning the pages but the bits in between those scenes were very dull in comparison.

The main difference about Shadows is that it’s told in third POV from multiple characters. So many characters. Characters that we were introduced to in Ashes but I couldn’t remember who half of them were because there were so many and I read Ashes quite a while ago. Shadows didn’t quite go over who was who, it just dropped straight into their story. So I found myself getting very confused and constantly getting pulled out of the story as I was trying to remember who the character was and why their storyline was important.

The rate at which the POV’s changed also annoyed me. I would be getting into one character’s journey when it would suddenly change to another persons POV and all excitement would be lost. I found myself constantly wishing it would just stick with Alex’s POV and her story. I just wanted to freaking know what happened to Alex. Not Peter, Chris, Lena or any of the other POV’s. I get that this story is a lot deeper than just people surviving monsters that want to eat them, I get that it makes you really wonder who actually are the monsters, I get that you’re meant to question; but I just wasn’t enjoying it. I forgot why Alex even wanted to stay alive, I forgot where she wanted to go and why she was fighting so hard. It felt like the reason she was enduring everything wasn’t made very clear. Or perhaps I missed where she reminded us.

While I was overly disappointed with this story I’ve realised it’s because I expected a different story to the one this told. I expected something that the first half of Ashes had felt like. This story is a lot darker and scarier than the beginning of the series, the beginning of the series really just set this story up, it makes you question and gets you thinking.

So Shadows wasn’t at all what I expected and was pretty big disappointment for me.

In Summary:
– After reading Ashes I had high expectations, unfortunately this book didn’t meet them.
– The pace was a lot slower in this book which led me to getting bored multiple times.
– Shadows is told in multiple third POV’s which didn’t work for me. I had forgotten who most of the characters were and since there was no reminder in the book as to who was who I had a hard time following each storyline. I really just wanted to see Alex’s story, I couldn’t care less about most of the others.
– While I wasn’t a fan of the POV’s they did start to show us the whole picture. This series isn’t a typical zombie book series, it has a bigger picture. Just who are the monsters in this world?

Miss J

5 thoughts on “[Review #85] Shadows by Ilsa J. Bick

    • It was such a different book to what I had expected! I loved Ashes too and expected to like Shadows, but you’re right. It was OTT in lot of places.

  1. Oh, boo to second books! I find a lot of them disappointing after falling in love with the first book in a series. It’s such a let down. But really, multiple POVs that change too quickly would ruin a book for me. I have a hard time keeping track and usually don’t get it straight until the end of the book, but by then I’ve always wondered how much I’ve missed or mixed up while trying to sort it out. Then add in the slow pace… Eh. I do want to read some zombie books soon, but I’m not sure if this series will be one of them!

    • I hate it when second book syndrome happens :( I haven’t actually come across too many though! But that’s probably because I’m easy to please. So this was a huge disappointment. But I do feel like maybe part of the reason as to why I didn’t enjoy it as much is because the whole story wasn’t what I expected, and the POV’s confused me more than anything else.

      I have to say the first book was pretty awesome. But I guess there’s no point to reading it if the following books just aren’t as good.

  2. Pingback: [Sunday Catch Up] May 13th – May 26th | Miss Book Reviews

Comment <3

