[Review #86] The Eternity Cure by Julie Kagawa

The Eternity Cure by Julie Kagawa Cover - Review Title: The Eternity Cure
Series: The Blood of Eden
Book two
Author: Julie Kagawa
Genre: Paranormal Romance
Young Adult
Rating: 
[Goodreads | Book Depository]

Summary

Allison Sekemoto has vowed to rescue her creator, Kanin, who is being held hostage and tortured by the psychotic vampire Sarren. The call of blood leads her back to the beginning—New Covington and the Fringe, and a vampire prince who wants her dead yet may become her wary ally.

Even as Allie faces shocking revelations and heartbreak like she’s never known, a new strain of the Red Lung virus that decimated humanity is rising to threaten human and vampire alike.

Review

The Eternity Cure was one hell of a sequel to The Immortal Rules. Action packed, shocking, page gripping-ly exciting and laugh out loud funny. I loved this, I went into this with very high expectations and found they were easily met. I really had no doubt that Julie Kagawa would deliver, because she certainly delivered.

Allison left Eden and the people that made her happy with the mindset that they would be better off and safer without her around, and with the vow to rescue her creator; Kanin. A few months after where The Immortal Rules left off Allison is tracking Kanin, Kanin is in danger and in pure agony as Sarren; a psychotic vampire, has him hostage and is torturing him with unrelenting glee or satisfaction that it is enough. In her search to find him, following the pull of her creator, she finally catches up to him. She is finally able to try and save him. Until she realises she was following the wrong pull and ends up discovering someone else.

The Eternity Cure is non-stop packed with action and suspense, new revelations happening through out the book. Just when you think you’ve figured it out something else is revealed, or something else happens that makes matters more urgent than they were before. I loved every minute of this book, I couldn’t put it down but when I had to (To get some sleep) all I could think about was when I would have time to pick this back up again. This book was one hell of a sequel.

One of the characters I fell in love with? Jackal. I just honestly could not help but like Jackal. Even though he was a murdering bastard, gave the impression he only did things if they benefited him, and was a true vampire that did not care about the humans; blood bags as he called them. Yet he was written so well, he had a sense of humour that had me cracking up laughing nearly every time he spoke and he just had this odd, weird charm about him that I really could just not.. not like him. Despite all of his misgivings. He was a very entertaining character and was very fun to read. I felt bad for liking him. I felt guilty because of what he’s done and probably wouldn’t resist to do again in a heart beat if he were put in that situation. Yet Julie Kagawa made me fall for him.

The Eternity Cure is well worth the read, I’ve read from other reviews that the beginning was a slow start, thing is to me I didn’t feel it that way. I felt like it was a great set up for the start, to remind us of what had happened and what Allison was like now. I enjoyed the beginning. In comparison to the rest of the book it was slower paced but that’s because the rest of the book was all go, go, go. Non-stop. No room for breathing space. All action and reveals, all suspense and excitement. Well to me it was anyway. So in comparison? Sure it was slower paced, but it fit the story and still had me frantically reading.

Personally I absolutely loved this sequel. The Eternity Cure lived up to my expectations. I’m not sure I will ever be able to look at another vampire book again and not compare it this series, all other vampire books will need to up their game for me to love it as much as I love this world and these vampires.

In Summary:
– I absolutely loved this book.
– My favourite character just happens to be the character I despised in book one. Julie Kagawa had such a way of developing him and writing him that I instantly started to like him.
– This book was exciting, action packed, fun and full of suspense and surprises.

Miss J

8 thoughts on “[Review #86] The Eternity Cure by Julie Kagawa

  1. I bought a copy of this a few weeks ago, and I can’t wait to read it. I definitely won’t be letting it sit on my bookshelf for months and months like I did with The Immortal Rules, lol. I’ve seen a few other reviewers say that they ended up liking Jackal, too, despite what a shady character he is. I wasn’t all that into Julie Kagawa’s fey books, but I do love her vampires!

    • Tell me about it! I owned The Immortal Rules for quite a while before I picked it up and read it. As soon as this book appeared in the mail I pushed all of the books in my TBR pile down one and started reading this.

      I too wasn’t into her fey series. Faeries and I don’t get along well at all. I agree, I love her vampires!

  2. Okay, I officially think The Immortal Rules is the next book I’m reading. I’ve been putting it off for months, out of fear that I’ll end up liking it and the sequel is going to break my heart, but if everyone says it’s good, it must be good. Great review! Allison sounds like such an amazing heroine.

    • I definitely recommend reading this at some point! I love this series. Although I wasn’t a fan of her fey series, but only because I don’t like faeries. Have you read her fey series?

      • Not really, for the same reason you didn’t like it – I’ve never liked fairies. Something about them… rubs me the wrong way, so to speak. haha

  3. Pingback: [Sunday Catch Up] May 27th – June 2nd | Miss Book Reviews

Comment <3

