[Review #87] Taken at Dusk by C. C. Hunter

Taken at Dusk by C. C. Hunter Cover - Review - Book three of Shadow Falls series Title: Taken at Dusk
Series: Shadow Falls
Book three
Author: C. C. Hunter
Genre: Paranormal Romance
Young Adult
Rating: 
[Goodreads | Book Depository]

Summary

Kylie Galen wants the truth so badly she can taste it. The truth about who her real family is, the truth about which boy she’s meant to be with—and the truth about what her emerging powers mean.  But she’s about to discover that some secrets can change your life forever…and not always for the better.

Just when she and Lucas are finally getting close, she learns that his pack has forbidden them from being together.  Was it a mistake to pick him over Derek? And it’s not just romance troubling Kylie. An amnesia-stricken ghost is haunting her, delivering the frightful warning, someone lives and someone dies. As Kylie races to unravel the mystery and protect those she loves, she finally unlocks the truth about her supernatural identity, which is far different—and more astonishing—than she ever imagined.

Review

Taken at Dusk was just as addicting as Born at Midnight. I loved it. I loved the cover, I loved the plot, I loved mostly everything about it.

In Taken at Dusk a ghost who has amnesia keeps hanging around Kylie and brings an ominous message from ‘them’. Kylie can never get too much information from the ghost because the ghost herself just has no idea about anything. Meanwhile Kylie finally gets to meet her fathers adoptive parents. Kylie hopes that meeting them will lead her to finding her real grandparents thus leading her to figuring out what she is.

Kylie wasn’t as annoying in Taken at Dusk as she was in Awake at Dawn. In this book she actually dealt with things, problems and fears that happened as soon as she could, she made Holliday and Burnett aware of them straight away. This lead to me not rolling my eyes and not getting angry and throwing the book across the room – Which is always a plus.

Although I am still annoyed by the love triangle and how fickle Kylie is between Derek and Lucas. I just want her to choose someone and stick with them! In this book Lucas and her are finally getting close, something she kept denying last book, but now that she has Lucas she now can not stop thinking about Derek or getting jealous over Derek. It’s crazy! And stupid! And so annoying I wish both guys would just leave her.

C. C. Hunter must have had a lot of fun writing this book, because I definitely had a lot of fun reading this book. There were a lot of intense scenes and moments, there was action, excitement, romance, loss and fun. Overall I highly enjoyed this book!

In Summary:
– Taken at Dusk was just as addictive, and exciting as the first two books in the series.
– I really liked that Kylie was now dealing with everything straight away that would be thrown at her.
– The love triangle is still as frustrating as ever in this book but I’m still super excited to read the next books in the series!

Miss J

Follow Miss Book Reviews on Bloglovin

5 thoughts on “[Review #87] Taken at Dusk by C. C. Hunter

    • Ermm to be honest I don’t think it could be compared to The Mortal Instruments series because its nothing like it. And I have only read City of Bones in that series haha. But I like this series a lot more than I liked City of Bones. This series is a lot lighter, has a different style of writing and I found it more fun. If you’re looking for a light paranormal read I definitely recommend giving it a try!

    • The only time I ever like love triangles is when it’s done right. The Last Year has a pretty good love triangle in it, I’ve only read up to book 2 in the series though so I’m not sure how it turns out. I hate the back and forth thing though that Kylie has going on.

  1. Pingback: [Sunday Catch Up] May 27th – June 2nd | Miss Book Reviews

Comment <3

