[Review #89] Shades of Earth by Beth Revis

Shades of Earth by Beth Revis Cover - Review Title: Shades of Earth
Series: Across the Universe
Book three
Author: Beth Revis
Genre: Science Fiction
Young Adult
Rating: 
[Goodreads | Book DepositoryPaperback | Hardback]

Summary

Amy and Elder have finally left the oppressive walls of the spaceshipGodspeed behind. They’re ready to start life afresh–to build a home–on Centauri-Earth, the planet that Amy has traveled 25 trillion miles across the universe to experience.

But this new Earth isn’t the paradise Amy had been hoping for. There are giant pterodactyl-like birds, purple flowers with mind-numbing toxins, and mysterious, unexplained ruins that hold more secrets than their stone walls first let on. The biggest secret of all? Godspeed‘s former passengers aren’t alone on this planet. And if they’re going to stay, they’ll have to fight.

Amy and Elder must race to discover who–or what–else is out there if they are to have any hope of saving their struggling colony and building a future together. They will have to look inward to the very core of what makes them human on this, their most harrowing journey yet. Because if the colony collapses? Then everything they have sacrificed–friends, family, life on Earth–will have been for nothing.

FUELED BY LIES.
RULED BY CHAOS.
ALMOST HOME.

Review

When I picked up the first book Across the Universe, I fell in love with the idea. A Million Suns made me fall in love with the series. And Shades of Earth has made this my favourite YA science fiction series. I am sad that it is over, but what an awesome ending for a great series!

In Shades of Earth Amy and Elder land the shuttle on Centauri-Earth with almost fifteen hundred people from Godspeed. Amy finally gets to unfreeze her parents and she can’t wait. Her parents are less than thrilled about the situation they find; mono-ethic people, the leader is their daughters age and they’ve gone backwards rather than forwards in technology. What everyone doesn’t expect when they step off of the shuttle are not the monsters that inhabit it but what may have inhabited the world before the monsters.

Shades of Earth was an epic ending, I can’t even explain how much I loved this book. The world was rich and expansive, the new characters weren’t a problem to get used to, and the constant questions I had running through my mind kept me plowing through this book. The world that Beth Revis created in this book obviously had a lot of back story. I thought it was amazing considering Revis practically had to create a whole new world and setting in the last book of the series while keeping the essence of the series as a whole. I definitely feel like she did this very well.

I really enjoyed reading this book, there were so many things going on and so many things being hinted at that at the beginning you really have no idea what way it was going to go. Half way through the book I started to feel like clues were being pointed out to us as if they were neon signs but as I read on I came to the realisation that those clues had been intended as neon signs. Because really they were distractions that deterred from the real twists and turns, the real story. They made me feel like I had everything all sorted out, but I realised I really hadn’t had anything sorted out.

Overall, Shades of Earth was definitely an Epic ending. I thoroughly enjoyed it and I definitely feel pleased that the last book met my expectations.

Similar: Paradise 21, Tundra 37, Colonization

In Summary:
– I thought this book was a great and exciting ending to the series.
– I really admired how Revis had created a whole new world from scratch.
– I liked how I was clueless to what was going on but so intrigued that I had to keep reading. And then once it was revealed I was surprised.

Miss J

Follow Miss Book Reviews on Bloglovin

4 thoughts on “[Review #89] Shades of Earth by Beth Revis

  1. Epic ending is the perfect way to describe Shades of Earth. I LOVED LOVED LOVED this last book. While I liked the other two, I thought this was the best yet in the series. It was just so good and it wrapped up everything so nicely for me. I just loved it.

    GREAT review! :D

    • This book was definitely awesome! I agree, I liked how it wrapped up the series. It was so different to the first two yet at the same time it had the feel of the last two books. I liked that even though it was different it felt consistent.

  2. I have yet to finish this series, but I loved the concept of the first novel and I am not even a science fiction fan!!!! Reading how much you enjoyed the series makes me want to move this up the list asap. Maybe I will just fit them in for July!

    Lily

Comment <3

