[Review #91] Storm by Brigid Kemmerer

Storm by Brigid Kemmerer Review - Cover - Paranormal water Title: Storm
Series: Elemental
Book one
Author: Brigid Kemmerer
Genre: Paranormal Romance
Young Adult
Rating: 
[Goodreads | Book Depository]

Summary

Becca Chandler is suddenly getting all the guys all the ones she doesn’t want. Ever since her ex-boyfriend spread those lies about her. Then she saves Chris Merrick from a beating in the school parking lot. Chris is different. Way different: he can control water just like his brothers can control fire, wind, and earth. They’re powerful. Dangerous. Marked for death.

And now that she knows the truth, so is Becca.

Secrets are hard to keep when your life’s at stake. When Hunter, the mysterious new kid around school, turns up with a talent for being in the wrong place at the right time, Becca thinks she can trust him. But then Hunter goes head-to-head with Chris, and Becca wonders who’s hiding the most dangerous truth of all.

The storm is coming.

Review

Storm blew me away. I absolutely loved everything about this. I remember hearing about Storm when it first came out, I really do not understand why I didn’t read this earlier. If you’re not sure about this book, give it a go! You may just fall in love with it like I did.

This book is a paranormal romance with ‘paranormal’ not including vampires, werewolves or faeries (Well I guess those are more supernatural anyway). Instead it is about Elemental’s. Where certain people on earth have the affinity for controlling a certain element. This idea was very intriguing and definitely something I’m new to reading.

Storm is about Chris and Becca’s story. Becca’s just finished a self defence class, on her way back to her car she see’s two guys beating up a third. She plucks up the courage to scare the two guys away by driving at them with her car and then tries to help the third guy – who she later finds out is Chris Merrick – whom happens to be unconscious on the ground. Chris is grateful for Becca’s help and tries to stay away from her knowing that he could put her in danger. He has the affinity for water and because he’s so strong and unable to control it sometimes he has people after him who want him dead. But sometimes, things really don’t work out they way you think. The people who are after Chris and his three brothers (Gabriel, Nick and Michael) now think Becca is one of them and won’t leave her alone.

Storm is told from alternating POV’s, Becca Chandler and Chris Merrick’s. I felt disappointed at this first off only because this style has really let down books for me in the past. Books I had been very excited to read or books I thought could have been great told in one point of view rather than multiple. But a few pages into Chris’s first POV chapter I realised Brigid Kemmerer is good at writing in multiple POV’s. For one she never revealed things about the other character that I felt excited to learn in time (Like how they felt towards each-other), which kept the suspense and excitement going. Both characters had things going on with them and they weren’t pining over each other which, seriously? Drives me crazy when every chapter has them worrying about the other person and wondering why they don’t like them. Blah, blah, blah. This book had layers and I love it when a book has layers.

The only thing that annoyed me was that Chris practically falls for Becca the first night they meet, although Becca takes longer to get there. I liked that it took a while for Becca, but I didn’t like that Chris was already starting to think about her as if he had known her for a while, rather than having just met her the night before.

Overall I thoroughly enjoyed Storm. I liked the style of writing, I found it exciting and suspenseful, and there was just enough going on to keep the reader interested but at the same time not confused.

When I found out Spark, book two in this series, is written in Gabriel Merrick’s POV (One of Chris’ brothers) I was a little disappointed because I was excited to see what happens next in Becca’s life. But I am so in love with the writing style that now, I can’t wait to see what’s in store for Gabriel! And then Hunter (Another character), Nick (Brother of Chris) and Michael’s (Brother of Chris) stories. I’ll have to look into the e-Novella’s that fall in-between all of these books too.

Suffice to say: I am addicted.

Similar: Born at Midnight, Unraveling, Obsidian, Blue Bloods

Miss J

Follow Miss Book Reviews on Bloglovin

5 thoughts on “[Review #91] Storm by Brigid Kemmerer

  1. I’ve seen this one pop up around the blogosphere, but couldn’t understand the attraction. For some reason being able to manipulate elements isn’t exciting to me, and really? I’m not a fan of those covers. (I’m so shallow, I know.) BUT, with all the positive reviews I’ve seen for it, I may just have to give it a chance. I mean, I haven’t actually READ any books about Elementals, so maybe I’ll be surprised! Great review!

Comment <3

