[Discussion] Part Two: Different Styles of Multiple POV’s

Discussion

Different styles of multiple points of views

*Disclaimer: By ‘Multiple points of views’ I am only referring to multiple characters points of views in books.

Last week I posted Part One of this discussion series after I admited that I used to hate reading books with multiple character POV’s. This week I wanted to discuss the different styles I’ve seen of books written in multiple POV’s and what books I liked using this particular style.

There are definitely very different styles of writing stories with multiple POV’s. Every book is different and every style is written with different intentions to get the story across. I like all and every style if it’s written well. And of course every person’s personal opinion varies from what they like and don’t like.

Alternating every chapter

We have characters points of view alternating every chapter. This style feels very organised and I think takes skill as every chapter would need to end in a place that makes sense, or end with enough intrigue that the reader would feel the need to read ‘one more chapter’, and then there’s also the other side where it would need to last long enough to make a whole chapter.

As I stated in part one, I really like this style which can be seen in:

Under the Never Sky by Veronica RossiAcross the Universe by Beth RevisLegend by Marie LuBelles by Jen CalonitaThe Ghost and The Goth by Stacey Kade
Etc, etc.

Alternating in sections

We have characters alternating points of view in sections meaning when the author wants to change the characters points of view they do.
For example:
Ashes by Ilsa J. Bick and Elementals by Brigid Kemmerer

I really liked how this was done in the Elementals series by Brigid Kemmerer. I found that each book focusses on the main character that the story revolves around with the secondary main character (The love interest), getting parts and sections told in their POV so we got to see their side of life. The way this series flows worked for me, I loved it.

Changing every book until the series is complete

Then there’s the bigger change. Each book in the series changes to a different characters point of view, or perhaps in this style it is more a different characters story but set in the same world.
For example: 
Elementals by Brigid KemmererHis Fair Assassin by Robin La FeversSevenwaters by Juliet Marillier Wildwood Dancing by Juliet MarillierGraceling Realm by Kristin Cahsore

There are a lot of series written this way which I absolutely love (For example all of the above). Each author and each series interprets it their own way, each book and each series is different and I love it.

Storm by Brigid Kemmerer - Miss Book ReviewsElementals by Brigid Kemmerer
Elementals is written in two POV’s every book, yet each book is based around a different character in the story. We get to fall in love with all of the characters in book one and then get close and personal with each different character in another book.

The Sevenwaters series by Juliet MarillierDaughter of the Forest by Juliet Marillier - Miss Book Reviews
The Sevenwaters series has each book centred around each new generation in their world. Each book has the same history and setting as it’s predecessors but each book centres around the last books main characters children. I liked this style because we get to see new characters, and completely new stories but they each have something familiar about them and feels like an old friend.

Graceling by Kristin Cashore - Miss Book ReviewsThe Graceling Realm by Kirstin Cashore
This series is written from a different character each book, except book two, Fire, is a companion novel set before Graceling, and book three; Bitterblue is set after Graceling and brings Graceling and Fire together. This series is amazing and I feel like each book compliments the each other, as well as being a part of a bigger story which we learn about in Bitterblue.

I love this series. I love each book in it’s own way. Each book in this series is completely different yet it’s set in the same world and comes together.

That’s what I loved about the different styles of multiple points of views.

Part One: Mulitple POV’s

Do you lean towards a certain multiple POV style? What’s your favourite book written in each style?

Miss J
x

13 thoughts on “[Discussion] Part Two: Different Styles of Multiple POV’s

  1. I don’t think I’ve ever looked at multiple POVs like this, with how it is switched from one to the other. If I had to choose which one I’d like best… well, seeming how I prefer only staying in one brain at a time I think switching characters with different books works best for me. Then I can still get close to new characters without feeling dragged from one place to anther. Does that make sense?

    • That definitely makes sense! I used to be the same, and I think I generally feel the same way mostly. But I’m open to giving multiple POV’s a try in the hopes I will love it. But sometimes those are my most DNF’ed books as I find faults easier… I feel like each style needs skill to be pulled off well!

  2. Different POV’s can make or break a book. It can be very interesting, like in The 5th Wave or irritating, like in Of Poseidon. The writer has to make very clear who is talking at that point, or it gets confusing. But if it’s done well, you can learn a lot about different characters and the world from other points of view.

    • I agree! It can definitely make or break a book. I definitely think it all depends on the authors writing style and voice of their characters. If the characters aren’t distinguishable in some way it muddles everything together and makes the book harder to read.

  3. I think I’ve grown used to different points of view every book because I’ve read a lot of adult series and they tend to focus on different characters every time. Although having more than three… okay, maybe for points of viiew in a book irritates me. J. R. Ward’s last few books have been a pain because there are so many characters and points of view (most of them completely useless) that I have a hard time focusing on the main story, whose time is cut short by the giant population…

    • I definitely feel that if there are more than four POV’s in a book then the author needs to make it clear why each character is needed and how they work with the story, as well as I like to think the more relatable each character is in some way the more I will enjoy their POV. But at the same time, so many POV’s could make it feel long winded. Aw no! I hate it when the POV’s detract from the story and the plot and stray from the main focus! I guess it all depends on the author and how they do it!

  4. I absolutely adore The Elementals! Each brother is so unique and I think the author is able to pull off so many POVs because she makes each one individual yet relatable. Her chartacters have so much depth and I can’t wait for Secret to come out!

    • I definitely agree, she makes all of the characters relatable in such a way that I feel addicted to this series. I can’t wait to read book three in the series, I’m rather behind on it haha.

  5. Pingback: Bookish Recap: June 17th - 22nd | A Bookish Heart

    • I find that I’m warming up to different styles if the author knows what they’re doing and they do it well. I don’t know if many authors can pull off the changing POV’s in sections though!

  6. I don’t mind alternating POVs, mater of fact I kinda like them. What I don’t like is the “messy” POVs. A recent book I read hard different point of views in no particular order, and switching from 1st person to 3rd person. And you also had to read a couple of paragraphs in to know whose pov this is. My favourite would be the alternating POV, but I haven’t read the “different POV every book.” Sounds interesting though.

    • Ohh I’ve never read a book that switches POV’s AND narratives. That sounds very jarring and like something you would need to get used to before being able to enjoy the book.

Comment <3

