[Review #102] Spark by Brigid Kemmerer

Spark by Brigid Kemmerer Cover - Review Title: Spark
Series: Elementals
Book two
Author: Brigid Kemmerer
Genre: Paranormal Romance
Young Adult
Rating: 
[Goodreads | Book Depository]

Summary

Gabriel Merrick plays with fire. Literally. Sometimes he can even control it. And sometimes he can’t. Gabriel has always had his brothers to rely on, especially his twin, Nick. But when an arsonist starts wreaking havoc on their town, all the signs point to Gabriel. Only he’s not doing it. And no one seems to believe him. Except a shy sophomore named Layne, a brainiac who dresses in turtle-necks and jeans and keeps him totally off balance. Because Layne has a few secrets of her own…

Review

Spark is book two in the Elemental series. I loved Storm and couldn’t get enough of it.

Spark is Gabriel Merrick’s story told in his and Layne’s point of view. This story is a little different, in Storm the story was in Becca’s and Chris’ point of view but I felt like Becca was the main character while Chris was the secondary main character. In Spark Gabriel is the main character, but it makes sense because we never met Layne in book one so why would she be the main character when we don’t even know her yet. I guess I found that it threw me a little but I got used to it pretty fast.

Gabriel feels like a failure, he couldn’t protect his twin brother Nick when he needed him the most. So he shuts Nick out and then through events he shuts everyone else out as well leaving him alone where nobody understands. When he’s discovered as cheating in math, by switching with his twin every test so he would pass, he is given a week and a half to prove he can stay in the class and join the basket ball team. He needs to pass math otherwise he won’t be able to join basketball again which is his lifeline. The girl sitting next to him offers to tutor him although he’s not sure why. After a string of fires across the city, Gabriel is accused of starting them, no one believes its not him; including the people he thought knew him the most.

Layne is the quiet one, she gets good grades, studies hard and tries to make her father proud. When her mother left she blamed herself, she thought it was because of an event that happened when she was younger that left her scarred for life, she could no long play the perfect daughter her mother wanted her to be. So when her mother left Layne knews she needed to look after her younger brother Simon, who is deaf, and to keep their father happy. But when she invites Gabriel Merrick over for math tutoring, things don’t go too well and she realises she has no idea what she was thinking because he just made everything worse.

At first I found it hard to really connect with Gabriel because of his flighty, impulsive and aggressive attitude towards everything but he controls fire so it makes sense, him and fire go hand in hand. I found like he exploded a lot instead of thinking logically and sensibly, he could be aggressive and didn’t know how to take out his anger, yet at the same time he was a pretty cool guy when he was calm and nice. I really liked how his personality fit with his element though, it made a lot of sense.

At first I found Layne to be sweet and nice but then the way she couldn’t stand up for herself and how she thought her father knew best started to annoy me. That changed as the story progressed though and I really liked who she came to be. I really liked her little brother Simon, he also grew throughout the book and it was cool getting to see him grow more confident.

I liked Spark a lot, it was very character driven, a lot more than Storm, but it was done really well. The only reason I haven’t rated this as high as Storm (Which I gave 5 clubs) is because even though I liked it I just didn’t love it as much as I loved Storm. Things progressed a little slowly at times, Gabriel’s attitude was getting really annoying and I hated how huge he made things, I really wanted him to open up to his family but he believed all of them were against him. And then to be honest I wasn’t sure I liked how it ended. Then again this series is written so we see these events unravel from each brother/elemental’s point of view, and the next book Spirit looks like it carries on this storyline.

In Summary:
-I really enjoyed reading this book. Even though the character changes threw me off a little I got used to it and read this within a night without even realising.
-I really disliked how Gabriel threw everything out of proportion and made things a lot worse by just not letting people in, he was very good at shutting everyone out and thinking no one cared. He was blind to everyone else’s feelings, he just couldn’t understand them. And that was something I couldn’t connect with.
-This book is very character driven and I loved getting to see how each character grew, including Layne’s younger brother Simon. I liked getting to see him grow more confident of himself.
-I really enjoyed reading this book and look forward to seeing where this story goes in Spirit, told from Hunter’s point of view.

Miss J

Follow Miss Book Reviews on Bloglovin

Comment <3

