[Review #104] 52 Reasons to Hate My Father by Jessica Brody

52 Reasons to Hate My Father by Jessica Brody Cover - Review Title: 52 Reasons to Hate My Father
Stand Alone
Author: Jessica Brody
Genre: YA Chick Lit
Young Adult
Rating: 

[Goodreads | Book Depository]

Summary

Being America’s favorite heiress is a dirty job, but someone’s gotta do it. 

Lexington Larrabee has never to work a day in her life. After all, she’s the heiress to the multi-billion-dollar Larrabee Media empire. And heiresses are not supposed to work. But then again, they’re not supposed to crash brand new Mercedes convertibles into convenience stores on Sunset Blvd either.

Which is why, on Lexi’s eighteen birthday, her ever-absent, tycoon father decides to take a more proactive approach to her wayward life. Every week for the next year, she will have to take on a different low-wage job if she ever wants to receive her beloved trust fund. But if there’s anything worse than working as a maid, a dishwasher, and a fast-food restaurant employee, it’s dealing with Luke, the arrogant, albeit moderately attractive, college intern her father has assigned to keep tabs on her.

Review

52 Reasons to Hate My Father was a fun story to read and I always like reading stories where  the characters grow and change for the good by the end of the book.

I liked this book. To an extent. It was fun, light, and heart warming at the end. But it also took a while to get interesting, the beginning started off slowly and I really didn’t like Lexi. Of course that was the whole point, we had to get to know Lexi as who she was before she was forced on the journey of working at 52 minimum wage jobs to learn the value of a dollar, and perhaps life. As Lexi grew and matured throughout the book I started to warm up to her, it was nice getting to see her come to realisations on her own and it hurt knowing how alone she felt yet no one else understood; they all thought she was the luckiest girl alive, she was rich and got anything and everything she wanted. Except they didn’t know her family was pretty much a façade they all put on for the cameras. She barely spoke to her father because he was always too busy with his work and never there.

I felt like we didn’t get to see many of the moments that could have been realisations for Lexi. And then I felt like she never learned what the value of a dollar was or the value of working in minimum wage jobs until you were able to work your way to the career you so desperately wanted. I felt like she learnt how to love but nothing more than that. By the end I still didn’t really think she had grown more worldly but rather learnt more about her family, her dad and that there’s more to life than partying.

The ending irked me. I know this is meant to be a light hearted book but I really wanted something a little more deeper at the end, something to make me feel and really like Lexi. The ending was tied up nicely yet I felt like there were important things missed out. Like apologies and bigger realisations or life changing decisions. It felt too much like a brush off the shoulder. It was a nice ending but it also felt like it only brushed the surface of Lexi’s problems.

Overall, I liked 52 Reasons to Hate My Father for what it was; light, fun ,heart warming and cute.

To summarise:
– This book was fun and light to read.
– I enjoyed watching Lexi grow and mature.
– The beginning was a little slow to start off.
– I wanted the story to be deeper than it was as I felt like it only scratched the surface of what Lexi was feeling and what she could have learned.

Miss J
x
Follow Miss Book Reviews on Bloglovin

One thought on “[Review #104] 52 Reasons to Hate My Father by Jessica Brody

Comment <3

