[Review #105] Geek Girl By Holly Smale

Geek Girl by Holly Smale Cover - Review Title: Geek Girl
Series: Geek Girl
Book one
Author: Holly Smale
Genre: YA Chick Lit
Young Adult
Rating: 
[Goodreads | Book Depository]

Summary

Harriet Manners knows a lot of things. 

She knows that a cat has 32 muscles in each ear, a “jiffy” lasts 1/100th of a second, and the average person laughs 15 times per day. What she isn’t quite so sure about is why nobody at school seems to like her very much. So when she’s spotted by a top model agent, Harriet grabs the chance to reinvent herself. Even if it means stealing her Best Friend’s dream, incurring the wrath of her arch enemy Alexa, and repeatedly humiliating herself in front of the impossibly handsome supermodel Nick. Even if it means lying to the people she loves. 

As Harriet veers from one couture disaster to the next with the help of her overly enthusiastic father and her uber-geeky stalker, Toby, she begins to realise that the world of fashion doesn’t seem to like her any more than the real world did. 

And as her old life starts to fall apart, the question is: will Harriet be able to transform herself before she ruins everything?

Review

Geek Girl is a light, fun and quick read.

I had fun reading this book. It was actually laugh out loud funny. Harriet’s dad? Wow. Funny and still acts like a child. I kind of liked the way he was so childish but at the same time he was Harriet’s rock and was able to act mature when she needed him. Toby was Harriet’s ‘stalker’, otherwise known as the boy who was also just as intelligent as Harriet and has been following her around for years. He was incredibly weird but also very harmless. And my goodness he was hilarious.

At first glance I thought this book was a pretty big book, considering it looked thick. But then as I was reading it I realised it wasn’t at all. It was very easy to read and I ended up finishing it in one night. But I did feel like I wanted more time to happen in the book, this book spans over a few days and for some reason I felt like I wanted it to happen over a longer period of time. Just because everything was happening so fast. She gets scouted, she’s booked a job, she’s flying out to Moscow, she’s doing a fashion show, she’s back home and trying make amends to all the people she lied to.

The there’s Nick. Harriet meets and speaks to Nick only a few times but they fall for each other in that amount of time and I feel like they hardly know each other. But then again Geek Girl is incredibly light and funny so the romance, which is hardly noticeable at all since this book is not based on the romance; it’s not unbelievable. It’s rather cute and sweet.

Geek Girl feels like it is geared more towards younger readers, it was a very light read and as fun as it was I just couldn’t come to really fall in love with it. It was too light for my tastes.

In Summary:
Geek Girl is light and fun to read with a lot of hilarious laugh out loud moments and characters.

-I loved the hilarity of some of the characters, especially Toby; Harriet’s weird ‘stalker’/friend.
-The romance was barely there, it was very non-essential to the story but was cute and sweet.
-It was so light to read that even though it looked like a big book, I finished it within a night.
-While I did enjoy Geek Girl I just felt like it was too light for me to really get invested in the story and the characters, and to really love it. 

Miss J

Follow Miss Book Reviews on Bloglovin

One thought on “[Review #105] Geek Girl By Holly Smale

  1. Sounds like a cute book. But so much seems to happen in just a few days… PLUS the main lead falling in love. I think I might read it in the future though! I’ve had my eyes on this one for a long time.

Comment <3

