[Review #108] Anna and the French Kiss by Stephanie Perkins

Anna and the French Kiss by Stephanie Perkins Cover - Review Title: Anna and the French Kiss
Series: Anna and the French Kiss
Book one
Author: Stephanie Perkins
Genre: YA Contemporary, Chick Lit
Young Adult
Rating: 
[Goodreads | Book Depository]

Summary

Anna is looking forward to her senior year in Atlanta, where she has a great job, a loyal best friend, and a crush on the verge of becoming more. Which is why she is less than thrilled about being shipped off to boarding school in Paris–until she meets Étienne St. Clair. Smart, charming,beautiful, Étienne has it all…including a serious girlfriend.

But in the City of Light, wishes have a way of coming true. Will a year of romantic near-misses end with their long-awaited French kiss?

Review

Wow. When everyone* was saying Anna and the French Kiss is probably the best book they’ve ever read; I didn’t believe them. When everyone* was giving this book 5 stars; I thought my opinion would differ. When everyone* was saying Etienne St. Clair was one of the most swoon worthy love interests; I thought ‘how so?’.

Why did I think all of these things before reading this book? Because I’m not that huge on romance taking the forefront of the story. But after reading this I realised this story was a love story. It wasn’t a story where the romance stole the plot. It was a story about love. And in fact it corrected me on the term ‘romance’, there was a lot of romance and swoon worthy moments, it was set in Paris of all places, and was about falling for your best friend when you only became best friends in the first place just to get closer to each other. Wow.

Anna and the French Kiss was amazing. I loved this book. I loved how Paris was described, it made me want to pack up and move there even though I have no reason to. It made me hope I someday find someone that will understand me and take notice of me just as much and as intensely as St. Clair did with Anna. This book definitely made me swoon. Etienne St. Clair made me swoon. Paris made me swoon. This book is 100% swoon-worthy. It’s a 5 star book in another league. Not because it was the most amazing book I’ve ever read, but because it was the most amazing love story that I have enjoyed reading.

I have decided that Etienne St. Clair is by far the top love interest over any book I have ever read. I absolutely loved how much he cared about Anna, I loved that they could have stupid and ridiculous conversations and they both just went with it, I loved the tension between the two. I just really did not like how he could not break up with his girlfriend. He never once physically cheated on her but he did mentally. And that kind of annoyed me. I was sitting there going “Why the hell are you still with your current girlfriend and not with Anna you idiot?!?!” *RAGE*. Other than that I loved him.

At first Anna’s attitude to being forced to go to school in Paris annoyed me. I mean it’s Paris. I would have loved that, it would have been a dream. Sure I would have been scared, but hell, I would have gotten over that. Anna slowly accepted it and got used to living in a foreign country that spoke a foreign language. As I read on I realised just how much I could relate with Anna, I loved that she was honest with St. Clair when it suddenly became too much. I loved they could fight and their relationship still held up, they were honest with each other and understood where the other was coming from. There was no shooting down, there was just acceptance and trying to understand.

I quite liked Stephanie Perkins writing style. It was witty, I laughed multiple times, and all of the conversations cut right to the point. The writing drew me into the story and helped me fall in love with the characters, the scenery, and the story.

Overall I highly enjoyed Anna and the French Kiss, just absolutely loved it. I definitely recommend reading this book!

In Summary:
– I loved, loved, loved this book!
– I loved how intensely St. Clair liked Anna. I liked their best friend relationship and how they felt safe around each other. I liked them together. It gave me butterflies.
– I just really did not like how St. Clair could NOT break up with his current girlfriend. It was crazy. And such a ridiculous reason. Sure it made sense but I still felt like he was hiding behind it.
– I cannot get over how much I loved this book.

Miss J

Follow Miss Book Reviews on Bloglovin

*I am exaggerating. Not everyone has read this book.

5 thoughts on “[Review #108] Anna and the French Kiss by Stephanie Perkins

  1. “I just really did not like how St. Clair could NOT break up with his current girlfriend. It was crazy. And such a ridiculous reason. Sure it made sense but I still felt like he was hiding behind” That was one of my problems with this book but otherwise it was a fun read.

  2. Definitely a wonderful book. I remember when I read it a few years ago, I was floored by how much emotion this drew out of me! Do pick up the next book ‘Lola and the Boy Next Door’, it’s just as wonderful. :)

  3. I was quite skeptical about picking this up, too, because it’s a genre that I don’t read often. But I felt like everyone had read it except me, and I gave in to my curiosity and ended up loving this book. The swoon-factor was very high for me, too. I definitely recommend reading Stephanie Perkins’s Lola and the Boy Next Door! :)

  4. You’re right, everyone DOES love this book – including you! I still haven’t read it, but I’ve always thought that if I were to stray into contemporary this would be the one I’d pick up. I want to know why everyone loves it so much and experience it myself!

Comment <3

