A zombie apocalypse: In an eNovella series format?

I know, I’ve already stated that this blog is on a hiatus. Thing is, I may randomly post something now and then, I just won’t hold myself to anything. Plus this is something I suddenly wanted to share with the world.

I just stumbled across this. At first I found it weird but now I’m loving this idea and I’m on the look out for more eNovella series’!

First we had eNovellas which were told in different POV’s, I kind of liked these because we got to see more of a secondary character. They would either be prequels or in between novels of a series to keep everyone going. Usually they weren’t necessary and honestly I never really want to buy them unless I love the series a lot.

Some eNovella’s felt like they were necessary and those are the ones I disliked because I felt like it wasn’t fair. I mean what if you can’t get your hands on that eNovella? What if you don’t have an eReader? What if it won’t ever be released in your country *Cough*Radiant by Cynthia Hand*Cough*? What are you to do? Well you can’t do anything about it.

Now I’ve stumbled across an eNovella series. A series which is labelled as ‘episodes’ and each ‘episode’ is around 20,000 words. At first I thought this was weird, I mean why doesn’t the author write a novel instead? And then I started reading it and I realised the benefits of an eNovella series instead of a novel series. I will use the one I’ve stumbled across as an example.

Love and Decay by Rachel Higginson – Episode One on Amazon

Love and Decay is an eNovella series about a zombie apocalypse. And I love it. I mean I’ve been looking for zombie apocalypse books that I could relate to for quite a while (Okay who says ‘relate to’ and ‘zombie apocalypse’ in the same sentence?). I’ve found a few zombie books that I really enjoyed, but couldn’t relate to any of the characters, or perhaps it wasn’t exactly what I’ve wanted but it was still enjoyable:

Ashes – The main character has a brain tumor and carries a gun around just waiting for the moment to kill herself just before the apocalypse happens, more about asking the thought provoking question ‘Just who are the monsters in the world’? Way too political for my tastes,
Rot and Ruin You should not kill the zombies unnecessarily, they used to be someone’s loved one. I DNF’ed this before I could read more in to this so maybe the idea changes? I wouldn’t know, I lost interest,
Enclave – Not zombies but was just exactly what I wanted when looking for a zombie book. Except it’s a dystopian so it’s not set in recent times, and once again; not zombies,
Alice in Zombieland – Supernatural, paranormal, not exactly a zombie apocalypse but really fun to read anyway,
The Forest of Hands and Teeth – Creepy, more about the society and the main character rather than the zombies, she was kind of crazy to me and I couldn’t relate to her at all, I didn’t really like her to be honest but the book was good,
Warm Bodies – A dark humor romance,
Taking on the Dead – I couldn’t get past the first few chapters, the main character already feels slightly crazy and it annoyed me more than anything else,
Zombie Fallout – I could not relate to nor feel for any of the characters that are introduced, because of that I stopped reading a few chapters in. I definitely feel like males would enjoy this one a whole lot more than me,
The First Days – I personally could not relate to any of the characters and got bored quickly.

I found a few that I thought were entertaining but as you could see “I couldn’t personally relate to any of the characters” comes up in a lot of them, this is because most of the characters were military, or were kind of crazy and had been planning for the zombie apocalypse for years so they had guns stashed away and knew what to do, or they were; male, older woman, unlikable, young, immature, reckless and annoying, or afraid of killing to survive or the opposite and not scared of being killed when realistically you should be peeing your pants. Or something of that nature.

I mean if there ever were a zombie apocalypse being in the military and having had  that training or really any kind of training just feels like it’s the only thing that would keep you alive. And while that is easily understandable and makes a ton of sense I personally can’t relate to that. Not everyone needs the skills or is in a position to learn the skills to survive like that. I felt like a lot of the jargon and characters went right over my head.

It all tells me normal people couldn’t survive a zombie apocalypse. Which is probably very true.  I mean I don’t spend my weekends sharpening my knives and learning how to behead the walking dead in anticipation of the zombie apocalypse like some people may do.  Still, I would like to think that I would at least have a chance of surviving if the zombie apocalypse happened; and I’m a person who has no idea how to use a gun.

So all I wanted to find was a good zombie book with a character that I could relate to, where the zombies attacked you because they wanted to eat your brains. Not a zombie book where the the main character had feelings for the zombies, or they have a conscience about killing the zombies because they used to be someone’s loved one, or even a zombie book where the zombies regain their humanity. Those are all well and good but comeee oooon! I just want a good damn zombie book where a normal person -okay so maybe a normal girl/young woman- learns how to kick ass and doesn’t have a conscience about killing things to protect themselves! Throw in a sexy realistic guy while you’re at it.

Obviously I was looking for a very YA version of the zombie apocalypse with a non-cheesy, realistic love interest that isn’t insta-love.

I have finally gotten my YA zombie apocalypse fix.

Love and Decay is the perfect series that I have been pining for for ages. It’s a refreshing take, the main character is not military, in fact she’s a high school girl. Well she would have been a high school girl if she still had to go to high school. I’m not in high school and definitely older but I can still relate.

Love and Decay actually feels like a tv series, you know when you watch an episode of your favourite show and you’re just dying to see the next episode. In each episode there’s a storyline within the bigger picture storyline and we get to see more of the characters, the world and the story than what we would in a movie. This eNovella series is like that; we get to see more than we would if this were a novel series. I feel like because these eNovella’s are short it leaves room for more character building and there’s just more that can happen without the reader getting bored and wondering how much more they have to read, all because it’s too short to feel like that. I’ve fallen in love with this.

An eNovella series? Genius. A YA eNovella series about the zombie apocalypse with a normal teenage girl as the main character that has to do what she has to do to survive and has no qualms about killing the already dead? Perfect. What’s more Episode one is free so you can check it out to see if it’s your cup of tea!

Love and Decay: Episode One | Episode Two | Episode Three | Episode Four | Episode Five

I got so excited after stumbling upon this series that I just had to share!

Miss J
x

One thought on “A zombie apocalypse: In an eNovella series format?

Comment <3

