[Review #112] Hallowed by Cynthia Hand

Hallowed by Cynthia Hand Cover - Review - Book two of the Unearthly Series Title: Hallowed
Series: Unearthly
Book two
Author: Cynthia Hand
Genre: Paranormal Romance
Young Adult
Rating: 
[Goodreads | Book Depository]

Summary

For months Clara Gardner trained to face the fire from her visions, but she wasn’t prepared for the choice she had to make that day. And in the aftermath, she discovered that nothing about being part angel is as straightforward as she thought.

Now, torn between her love for Tucker and her complicated feelings about the roles she and Christian seem destined to play in a world that is both dangerous and beautiful, Clara struggles with a shocking revelation: Someone she loves will die in a matter of months. With her future uncertain, the only thing Clara knows for sure is that the fire was just the beginning.

Review

When I read Unearthly I claimed it to be my favourite book of the year and the best read I had ever read, which was surprising since I don’t often like ‘angel’ themed stories. Now this was back in 2012 when I had just started this blog and I hadn’t been reading a lot but what I had been reading had been books that didn’t interest me. So when Unearthly came along it blew me out of the water. It took me quite a long time to start Hallowed and I’m not sure why.

When I picked up Hallowed I expected to love it and rave about it for months on end like I did with Unearthly. But for some reason, I just can’t rave about this. I just did not love this as much as I seem to have loved Unearthly, I was actually really disappointed about this. Hallowed just did not pull me in like Unearthly did, for me it suffered ‘second book syndrome’. I think a huge part of this is because of the love triangle and the lack of action I had expected.

In Unearthly I was team Tucker all the way. He was sexy and amazing and he accepted Clara for who and what she was. In Hallowed that all went to crap, I wanted Tucker to move out of the way and let Christian take over. I all of a sudden just wanted Clara to stop being stubborn, get over it and go with Christian. The way Hand wrote this book geared readers towards Christian and the way she wrote Unearthly geared readers towards Tucker. I didn’t like it because it was setting me and Clara up for heartbreak. So I didn’t like the love triangle because I loved both of the love interests but I didn’t like how it was all unfolding and I feel like it completely negated the entire first book. One of them has to lose, hell maybe in Boundless everyone will lose? I don’t know. All I know is I will be giving this series a little bit of a breather before I dive in to the last book.

After the end of Unearthly I had expected Hallowed to dive right in with action and black wings all over the place, except I got nothing of the sort. For me the beginning was slow and un-memorable and then the unfolding of events was slow and there wasn’t really a lot of action at all. It was just heartbreaking for me simply because of the love triangle. But then the reveal and the end was heart wrenching and quite frankly pissed me off. Seriously. Just pissed me off. It took me by complete surprise in the bad way, I just wasn’t happy.

Overall, this book was okay but it brought all sorts of anger and annoyance. It left me feeling sour rather than excited for the last book in the series. I have no idea where this story is going now, not even a hint. So I don’t know how I feel about this series as a whole. However, this book is a must read if you have already started this series.

In Summary:
– Hallowed was nothing that I expected in terms of story wise. I was completely surprised at the direction that this book took this series, now I have no idea what’s going to happen in Boundless.
– 
I wasn’t a fan of the love triangle at all, I felt like it completely negated the first book and destroyed all the good feelings I felt in Unearthly yet I was rooting for the other guy the whole time.
 I didn’t love Hallowed like I loved Unearthly and that made me sad. This book just wasn’t as good as its predecessor.

Miss J

Follow Miss Book Reviews on Bloglovin

2 thoughts on “[Review #112] Hallowed by Cynthia Hand

Comment <3

