[Review #113] The Crown of Embers by Rae Carson

Crown of Embers by Rae Carson Cover - Review Title: The Crown of Embers
Series: Fire and Thorns
Book two
Author: Rae Carson
Genre: Fantasy
Young Adult
Rating: 
[Goodreads | Book Depository]

Summary

Elisa is the hero of her country. She led her people to victory against a terrifying enemy, and now she is their queen. But she is only seventeen years old. Her rivals may have simply retreated, choosing stealth over battle. And no one within her court trusts her-except Hector, the commander of the royal guard, and her companions. As the country begins to crumble beneath her and her enemies emerge from the shadows, Elisa will take another journey. With a one-eyed warrior, a loyal friend, an enemy defector, and the man she is falling in love with, Elisa crosses the ocean in search of the perilous, uncharted, and mythical source of the Godstone’s power. That is not all she finds. A breathtaking, romantic, and dangerous second volume in the Fire and Thorns trilogy.

Review

The Crown of Embers surprised me, I liked The first book; The Girls of Fire and Thorns but I didn’t love it like I loved this. I knew this book was going to be good but I didn’t realise this book was going to be amazing. I loved it, I highly enjoyed it and now I’m dying to read The Bitter Kingdom.

The Crown of Embers follows Elisa as she tries to rule a country that is in ruins from the war that has just ended. I loved this book mainly because this book has a bigger picture. Elisa learns through choices and mistakes she makes, she learns by doing the wrong things but at least she’s decisive about it. I loved watching her grow throughout the book, discover herself and gain confidence. The character development that was weaved throughout the story was amazing.

The romance in this book had my own stomach flipping. Stolen glances, forbidden feelings, secret moments. The way Elisa falls in love is deep, she truly cares for the man she has fallen for yet for her country she knows it is not possible and never will be for her to be with him. The pain she suffered from the fact of this was heartbreaking, yet she would put her country first and always. I loved that about her. She was strong and even in times of fear she was still able to appear strong.

Elisa is a strong character, she steadily grows throughout the book as she learns how to be queen of a country she has only recently become a part of. She was a very well rounded, deep character and I felt for her. I was able to connect with and understand her which I always find is incredibly important. All of the characters in The Crown of Embers were well rounded, I loved that. I loved everything about this book.

Overall, there were many, many things I absolutely loved about this book and nothing that I didn’t. The Crown of Embers flew past the first book in the series and is a definite read. It’s exciting, thrilling, interesting, addicting and one of the best books I have read.

In Summary:
The Crown of Embers was amazing, I loved every minute of it.
– Elisa’s character development was astounding and the way it was weaved through the story was enthralling.
– I loved how Elisa grew and learned from her mistakes throughout the book. I loved that she made mistakes when thinking she was making the right decisions. It was realistic.
– The romance had my own stomach in flips, it was captivating and exciting seeing the romance grow.
– This is definitely one of the best books I read in 2013.

Miss J

4 thoughts on “[Review #113] The Crown of Embers by Rae Carson

    • I agree! I loved this whole series! The way it was written was amazing, Carson is one hell of a writer. I really liked that Elisa has such amazing character development, there’s nothing about this book I didn’t like haha.

  1. Like you, I enjoyed the first book but LOVED this book. Elisa’s strength and growth really impressed me. I can’t wait you to get to the Bitter Kingdom. Hope you enjoy it!

    • Elisa’s character development was impressive, Carson sure knows how to get her characters growing from one decision to the next. Thanks! This series is definitely one of my favourites!

Comment <3

