[Review #114] Dark Triumph by Robin LaFevers

Dark Triumph by Robin LaFevers Cover - Review Title: Dark Triumph
Series: His Fair Assassin
Book two
Author: Robin LaFevers
Genre: Fantasy
Young Adult
Rating: 
[Goodreads | Book Depository]

Summary

Sybella arrives at the convent’s doorstep half mad with grief and despair. Those that serve Death are only too happy to offer her refuge—but at a price. The convent views Sybella, naturally skilled in the arts of both death and seduction, as one of their most dangerous weapons. But those assassin’s skills are little comfort when the convent returns her to a life that nearly drove her mad. And while Sybella is a weapon of justice wrought by the god of Death himself, He must give her a reason to live. When she discovers an unexpected ally imprisoned in the dungeons, will a daughter of Death find something other than vengeance to live for?

Review

Wow. Dark Triumph was very different to Grave Mercy, it was darker and more tortured. Sybella’s story was more personal than what Grave Mercy was. Grave Mercy focused more on the political doings of the country and what was happening at the time, while Dark Triumph focused more on Sybella and her secrets. I really liked this book.

Dark Triumph was exciting and entertaining from page one, twists were revealed throughout the book with the first one that I personally did not know already within the first few chapters. I really liked this because I never guessed any of the twists or any of Sybella’s secrets until they were revealed. Sybella was tortured and dark, she was haunted by her past and her childhood. Yet she was still likeable, understandable, and interesting and I found myself really starting to care for her.

The romance between Sybella and the certain soldier was heart warming. To be honest I did find it happened a little too fast, sure they travelled together for a few days but then they didn’t see each other or have a proper conversation for a while afterwards. So when the romance was trying to subtly make its way known I was instead a little disbelieving of it. I guess the word love felt like it was being felt too soon. But I was able to forgive this because this story was so very interesting.

I was addicted to Dark Triumph, I found it hard to put down and stop reading, I had wanted to read it from cover to cover within one go. Which wasn’t possible unfortunately. So I picked this book up every spare moment I had. I am dying to read book three; Mortal Heart already, but I have to be honest that I have no idea what story Mortal Heart will tell. The end of this book left me with questions about the state of the country but it also left questions about what book three entails. I’m intrigued to find out!

Overall, I highly enjoyed Dark Triumph. It was addicting, fascinating, dark yet exciting and intriguing.

In Summary:
– I absolutely loved Dark Triumph.
Dark Triumph was a darker and more personal story than its predecessor Grave Mercy. Making this book different and even more interesting to read.
– I loved that there were twists and turns revealed throughout the book. I never guessed any of them.
– Sybella was tortured yet she was also relate-able and likeable.
– The romance did feel a little sudden with the amount of interactions her and the soldier had. But I was able to forgive this because the rest of the story was thrilling.

Miss J

Follow Miss Book Reviews on Bloglovin

2 thoughts on “[Review #114] Dark Triumph by Robin LaFevers

    • Grave Mercy and Dark Triumph were so amazing that I’m excited to see how Mortal Heart will play out! I’m so excited for it, I feel like it’s been forever since Dark Triumph was released though and yet Mortal Heart is still not published :( Too long to wait haha.

Comment <3

