[Review #115] The Throne of Glass by Sarah J. Maas

Throne of Glass by Sarah J. Maas Cover - Review Title: Throne of Glass
Series: Throne of Glass
Book one
Author: Sarah J. Maas
Genre: Fantasy
Young Adult
Rating: 
[Goodreads | Book Depository]

Summary

After serving out a year of hard labor in the salt mines of Endovier for her crimes, 18-year-old assassin Celaena Sardothien is dragged before the Crown Prince. Prince Dorian offers her her freedom on one condition: she must act as his champion in a competition to find a new royal assassin. Her opponents are men-thieves and assassins and warriors from across the empire, each sponsored by a member of the king’s council. If she beats her opponents in a series of eliminations, she’ll serve the kingdom for three years and then be granted her freedom. 

Celaena finds her training sessions with the captain of the guard, Westfall, challenging and exhilirating. But she’s bored stiff by court life. Things get a little more interesting when the prince starts to show interest in her… but it’s the gruff Captain Westfall who seems to understand her best. 

Then one of the other contestants turns up dead… quickly followed by another. 

Can Celaena figure out who the killer is before she becomes a victim? As the young assassin investigates, her search leads her to discover a greater destiny than she could possibly have imagined.

Review

Throne of Glass was not as good as I had expected it to be. I had pretty high hopes for this one and was thoroughly disappointed. Yet by the end of this book I am now dying to read book two. Let me explain.

The main thing I didn’t like about Throne of Glass was that it felt inconsistent with what I feel like should be fact in the era that this is taking place in. Even if this story is not fact. My suspense of belief could not stretch this far at the beginning of this story.

If you’re a lowly, deadly, well known, feared assassin -even named the best assassin in the country- that is given a chance at life for whatever reason, and you’re going to stay in the kings castle while proving yourself; you most certainly would not at first be trusted to be left alone in a room where you could- if you really, really wanted to, escape. Nor would you be doted on, given expensive dresses, and the use of the royals personal library at the princes request. The prince would not accept such a request, even though you were working for him. For all of that to be possible you would need to gain the royals trust. I did not see Celaena gain the royals trust before any of this happened for her. If she had gone through the process of gaining trust, for a sufficient reason, first then this would have made more sense and been more believable to me.

I really didn’t like that Celaena was treated like a royal guest when they all feared she would assassinate the prince or the king. She had every reason to kill the royal family. Yet she was brought into the castle, treated like a royal guest, flirted with the prince, and allowed entry to the royal library; the one place that only the king or the prince can give permission to enter. Celaena received all of this far too soon and for doing practically nothing.

The beginning of Throne of Glass started off interesting, then it made me sad because I couldn’t believe any of it. Celaena was not acting like the most feared assassin in Adarlan. She was not scary, never felt like a threat and even though she was constantly mentioning ways she could kill someone I did not believe she would kill a man in cold blood. I never once believed that she was the killer her reputation preceded her to be. She felt like she blew a lot of hot air.

As I read on this story grew more interesting and while I still did not like Celeana or her arrogant attitude; I did start to like Chaol. But my favourite character would have to be Nehemia, she was interesting and I found I would keep looking forward to moments where she was involved. She was fiery, fun, real and interesting. Such a nice contrast to the stuck up, arrogant, self-centred Celaena. I just really could not connect with nor like Celaena.

Celaena cared a lot about her looks and what she wore, she cared how beautiful she was and while this isn’t a bad thing it became annoying when she always noticed clothing and wondered how good she looked. Okay so maybe she never wondered how good she looked but that was because she knew she looked good. All the time. It felt like this was thrown in our faces too often.

The romance wasn’t a lot to swoon over either. I was rather annoyed with it as well because I didn’t feel like Celaena actually liked the prince. I never felt like they had a connection or were drawn to each other, there was never any tension between them. It felt more like he was a love sick puppy and she had him wrapped around her finger.

The ending saved this book for me. The ending came out of no where, it was interesting and I felt like everything got a whole lot better. The writing, the plot, the reason Celaena must stay on. It just got good all of a sudden and now I’m dying to read book two.

Overall, the main reason I didn’t like this book was the main character and the way my suspense of belief was not able to stretch. The main reason I am now dying to continue reading this story is because the plot is a good one. There is a lot of potential in where this story could go and I’m now very intrigued in finding out. I just hope Celaena becomes more likeable, grounded and less self centred.

In Summary:
Throne of Glass was not as good as I expected it to be.
– My sense of belief could not stretch to the lengths the author intended it to.
– I really did not like Celaena. She was arrogant, self centred, vain and felt weak as a character. I never once believed she was an assassin, let alone the best assassin in Adarlan. I could believe she was someone that had the skills to fight; but a killer? Not in the slightest. I just could not connect with nor like Celaena.
– I really liked Chaol though. And Nehemia was my favourite character; she was fun, real, fiery and passionate. She actually had a real reason to be where she was.
– The end of the book had me hooked. It suddenly got good. I liked where the plot was going and now I can’t wait to see what happens next.
– Therefore I am willing to continue on with this series.

Miss J

Follow Miss Book Reviews on Bloglovin

8 thoughts on “[Review #115] The Throne of Glass by Sarah J. Maas

  1. I’m sorry this one wasn’t what you wanted it to be. I for one could believe it because I understood that she had the upper hand because the prince already wanted her to win and so he treated her well. The romance in throne of glass is nothing compared to the romance in Crown of midnight. BELIEVE ME.let’s just say you were meant to feel a certain way about a certain someone so that when something else happens you know it’s the real deal! Keep with the series! I promise you you’ lll LOVE it
    Lily @Lilysbookblog

    • I have read Crown of Midnight and I definitely liked it a whole lot more than Throne of Glass! You’re right the romance was a lot better in book two so I’m glad I stayed with the series.

  2. I had some of the same issues with Celaena in this, like her arrogance and all her talk about her assassinating skills without actually doing much assassinating. I did find her a much more developed character in the sequel, Crown of Midnight. And I swoon big time over Chaol!

    • From a lot of reviews I read I think a lot of people had the same issues with Throne of Glass!

      However I agree, everything was better in Crown of Midnight! The character development, Celaena wasn’t as arrogant, my suspense of belief was able to stretch. Although the reveal at the end wasn’t even close to a surprise for me. I had guessed it in the novellas and had thought it was quite obvious haha. But I used to read books with this story line all the time, I loved the whole ‘Cinderella’, ‘Royalty’ and ‘You can’t possibly fall in love with someone beneath your status’ thing. Still, Crown of Midnight was a more enjoyable read!

  3. Gah I very much disliked this one too. I agree with all your points – assassins would not be trusted with information…. such as so and so lives in this room… and two, for all the bragging she does she does nothing to to prove her worth as an awesome assassin. Just some girl trying to tough talk herself up. If she was a guy people would hate him. Call him a tool, etc. Gender bias again.

    I won’t even attempt the rest of the series… I know I’ll dislike Calaena even more with my tastes.

    I just finished a book recently… and the protagonist, her name Lozen, was a bad ass killer. She talked herself up like Calaena in some respect but somehow was humble (enough) about it too. Thus making this character more likable. And she killed stuff. /Killer of Enemies/ by Joseph Bruchac… I’ll write a review as soon as I can get to it.

    • Those were huge points that really annoyed me about this book! They were just stretched way too far for my suspense of belief to handle.

      I do have to admit I liked Crown of Midnight a whole lot more than Throne of Glass so I will be continuing the series, but it still wasn’t amazing and doesn’t rate up to fantasy’s I’ve read prior.

      Yes! A humble assassin is way better than an arrogant assassin!

  4. Pingback: Quick Reviews: Second Book Syndrome? | Miss Book Reviews

Comment <3

