[Review #119] The Host by Stephenie Meyer

The Host by Stephenie Meyer - Cover - Review Title: The Host
Series: The Host
Book one
Author: Stephenie Meyer
Genre: Science Fiction, Dystopia
Young Adult
Rating: 
[Goodreads | Book Depository]

Summary

Melanie Stryder refuses to fade away. The earth has been invaded by a species that take over the minds of human hosts while leaving their bodies intact. Wanderer, the invading “soul” who has been given Melanie’s body, didn’t expect to find its former tenant refusing to relinquish possession of her mind.

As Melanie fills Wanderer’s thoughts with visions of Jared, a human who still lives in hiding, Wanderer begins to yearn for a man she’s never met. Reluctant allies, Wanderer and Melanie set off to search for the man they both love.

Review

I have to be honest, when I first read the synopsis for The Host I had no interest in picking it up, but that was years ago when it first came out and everyone was all ‘Twilight sucks, rahhh’. I had forgotten all about this book and Stephenie Meyer until the movie adaptation was made, I ended up really enjoying the movie so I put this book on my To Be Read list. At the time I didn’t think I would ever get to this book because the sheer size of it was intimidating – over 800 pages in paperback form? Way too long for a typical young adult book!

Let me tell you. This book? This book was freaking awesome, I couldn’t put it down! I was addicted the entire time and couldn’t wait to pick it back up. I didn’t feel the length of the book, I didn’t think it was long winded or boring and I didn’t want to put it down. Even though I had seen the movie first and I already knew how the story went, I was still thoroughly entertained. Wanda and Melanie were interesting, the book was completely different to the movie in the respect of how it’s told on paper compared to on screen visually. Wanda and Melanie’s thoughts and struggles are clearer when we get to read them and I found myself getting pulled straight in.

The Host is very character driven which I loved because the character development of Wanda was fantastic. Getting to see how she changed and grew over the course of the book was interesting. I loved how at first Wanda referred to herself and Melanie as separate people but then as she got to know Melanie and understand her, Wanda referred to herself as ‘we’, two people who are one. The Host was also character driven by other characters in the book, Jamie, Jared, Jeb and Ian, each character had a strong voice and presence. I only just noticed that three of the character had names starting with the same letter, usually when that happens I forget who’s who, but in The Host Meyer had written each character in such a way that there was no mistaking who was who. I found myself wanting to see them in the story, I fell in love with the characters and the way they were portrayed.

Wanda and Melanie were easy to distinguish even though they shared the same body, their voices were very different but equally as strong as each other. I found myself sympathizing with Wanda yet wanting Melanie to succeed. Even though I had seen the movie first and knew how it ended I still felt the need to see both of them happy, I wanted to find out how it ended for them in the book. The Character relationships between all characters were so intense and so moving that you just couldn’t help but fall in love with them.

The souls themselves were so very interesting, I loved the mechanics of how they worked and what kind of species they were. I loved that each world they had been to was so vivid and described in such a way that you could imagine it. I really liked that they were aliens that were ‘outside of the box’, they weren’t ‘green men’ or destructive.

The romance in this book was amazingly interesting, it was weird because Wanda loved Jared simply because Melanie loved Jared and Wanda was in her body and remembering her memories. I really liked Ian, I liked that he fell for Wanda for who she was and how she thought, her appearance took no place in that. The tension between the four of them; Wanda, Melanie, Jared and Ian was realistic and appropriate. It was definitely interesting to see.

Stephenie Meyer is actually a pretty good storyteller in my opinion. The Host was very well written, her characters were strong, the world building was amazing, interesting and explained in a way that you didn’t even notice it was being explained, you could just see the world around Wanda and Melanie. I’m now excitedly waiting for her next books to see what she comes out with!

The Host is definitely one of  the best books I have ever read. It was fun, addicting, the characters and the world were highly developed and the idea for the plot, even though not wholly new, it was original in Meyers own voice and through the characters eyes.

In Summary:
– I absolutely loved The Host. I think it’s one of the best books I’ve ever read, the world, the characters, the souls, the plot were just amazing.
– The Host was a lot of fun to read, even though the size of it is intimidating (800+ pages) I never felt the length of the book. I was pulled in and loved every minute of reading it.
– This book is very character driven, Wanda and Melanie have strong voices and even though they share a body they were easy to distinguish because their voices were so different. The secondary characters also had strong voices and a strong presence, they also moved the story.
– The souls themselves were an incredibly interesting species, Meyer did a great job of portraying them and their culture and to show just how different they were.
– The romance in this story was epic, I just loved the whole idea of how Melanie loved Jared with her whole body that it interfered with Wanda’s own feelings for Ian. It was a weird romance that twisted and became confusing for everyone involved but was very deep and moving.
– This book proves just how amazing a writer Stephanie Meyer is. 

Jord

Follow Miss Book Reviews on Bloglovin

13 thoughts on “[Review #119] The Host by Stephenie Meyer

    • It’s definitely different to Twilight! To be honest I can’t compare Twilight and The Host as I can’t actually remember what I thought of Twilight’s writing as I read it way too long ago. But The Host holds its own, I enjoyed it a lot more than Twilight! I definitely recommend only starting this book when you’re in the mood though as it is pretty long and may put you off if you’re not in the mood to read it! I loved it.

  1. I got this book from a second hand shop the other day I wasn’t really interested but it was 3 books for £1 so I got it, but reading your review I think I nigth give it a read. Oh and I didn’t even no there was a movie about it I will have to look that up x

  2. I remember picking this up because I was so obsessed with Twilight at the time, lol, and I really enjoyed it on its own merits. I wish she’d return to continuing this story-that ending! I NEED to know what happens next!

  3. Pingback: F&F: I do not recommend reading this book. Ever. | Miss Book Reviews

    • It’s a div style! The below is the code for the box I have (without the brackets and the close /div), the ‘radius’ is the curved edges.

      div style=”border: 1px solid #b9b9b9; border-radius: 15px; -khtml-border-radius: 15px; -moz-border-radius: 15px; -webkit-border-radius: 15px; background-color: #f5f5f5; padding: 5px;”

      If you want a square box put 0px for the border radius.

  4. I agree with you 1000%! I actually did this one on audio & for me, it only enhanced & deepened the experience!

    It made me so sad when the movie didn’t do well at the box office. I enjoyed it, as you did, but felt that the characters could’ve been built up more. But honestly, when comparing movies to the books on which they’re based pretty much always ends with the movie falling short!
    Thank you for your review!

    • I agree, I get really disappointed when books I like are made into movies and then the movie adaptation didn’t do very well. For example I loved the Vampire Academy book series by Richelle Mead, but the movie? Did pretty bad and didn’t live up to the books at all! I wished they had made a tv series for that instead of a movie…

Comment <3

