[Review #121] The Elite by Kiera Cass

The Elite by Kiera Cass Cover - Review Title: The Elite –
Series: The Selection
Book Two
Author: Kiera Cass
Genre: Dystopia (?), Romance
Young Adult
Rating: 
[Goodreads | Book Depository]

Summary

Thirty-five girls came to the palace to compete in the Selection. All but six have been sent home. And only one will get to marry Prince Maxon and be crowned princess of Illea.

America still isn’t sure where her heart lies. When she’s with Maxon, she’s swept up in their new and breathless romance, and can’t dream of being with anyone else. But whenever she sees Aspen standing guard around the palace, and is overcome with memories of the life they planned to share. With the group narrowed down to the Elite, the other girls are even more determined to win Maxon over—and time is running out for America to decide.

Just when America is sure she’s made her choice, a devastating loss makes her question everything again. And while she’s struggling to imagine her future, the violent rebels that are determined to overthrow the monarchy are growing stronger and their plans could destroy her chance at any kind of happy ending.

Review

I quite enjoyed The Selection, I thought that it had potential and that The Elite would take that potential and make this series huge. However I was incredibly surprised to find that this book is probably the worst second book in a series that I have ever read. By that I mean: I was able to finish this book because it wasn’t boring per se but I dis-liked this book and the main character so much that I actually think I won’t even bother with the last one.

The Elite was very frustrating. The first things I thought when I finished this book and closed the back cover was “What the hell did I just read? What the hell just happened? What the hell is going on? And why the hell does Maxon like America?!”, seriously. This book confused me. The main perpetrator? The romance.

The romance and the love triangle was so forced it felt like America was two completely different people when she was around Maxon and then around Aspen. Whenever Maxon was in her line of sight she was in love with him but whenever Aspen was in her line of sight she was head over heels for him instead. She kept flicking backwards and forwards between to the two like a boomerang. It was ridiculous! She was ridiculous! They were ridiculous! I’m not sure why either of them are even interested in her, she clearly doesn’t know what she wants or who she wants. It just felt like Cass was trying to make the book interesting by forcing the love triangle. It failed, miserably.

In The Selection I wanted to hear and see more of the rebels. In The Elite we got a bit more but the scenes felt placed, it didn’t seem to flow very well. Although the rebels never felt dangerous, they never felt like they were a real threat. Maxon’s father felt more like a threat.

The Elite lost all of the humour that I loved in The Selection. I found America to be whiny, indecisive, pretty horrible. I simply couldn’t find her funny because I disliked her way too much for how indecisive and selfish she was.

In Summary:
– The Elite was probably the worst second book in a series that I have ever read.
– The love triangle was incredibly forced, dry, boring and just plain horrible. There was no chemistry, America loved whoever was in her line of sight. It was ridiculous.
– The rebel scenes felt like they were placed in the story, the story was very choppy and didn’t flow very well. I didn’t seriously think anyone was in any real danger.
– America was just plain selfish.
– I personally did not like this book. This makes me very sad.

Miss J

Follow Miss Book Reviews on Bloglovin

One thought on “[Review #121] The Elite by Kiera Cass

  1. Pingback: F&F: I do not recommend reading this book. Ever. | Miss Book Reviews

Comment <3

