[Review #124] The Maze Runner by James Dashner

The Maze Runner Cover - Review Title: The Maze Runner
Series: The Maze Runner
Book one
Author: James Dashner
Genre: Dystopia, Post Apocalyptic, Survival
Young Adult
Rating: 
[Goodreads | Book Depository]

Summary

“If you ain’t scared, you ain’t human.” 

When Thomas wakes up in the lift, the only thing he can remember is his name. He’s surrounded by strangers–boys whose memories are also gone.

Outside the towering stone walls that surround the Glade is a limitless, ever-changing maze. It’s the only way out–and no one’s ever made it through alive.

Then a girl arrives. The first girl ever. And the message she delivers is terrifying.

Review

I had heard a lot of good things about The Maze Runner, so I went into this book trying to not let the hype raise my expectations too high. I enjoyed this book a lot, the story was intriguing and the ending has me dying to read more. The Maze Runner was a fun and exciting read, I really enjoyed trying to figure out what was going to happen and why all of these boys were stuck in a place with no memory.

However the very beginning of The Maze Runner was excruciatingly frustrating. The boys pretty much had their own language and own swear words which they said every second word. I cringed every time I heard it because the words were weird and sounded silly to me, however that was probably because the words were used in overload in the first few chapters. I immediately picked up that this was to make the readers feel lost and confused just like Tom was, he had no idea what all these words meant either. For me it was too much and I nearly stopped reading right then and there because the words were too much for me to bear; I really don’t like it when books have their own swear words. The beginning of the book was frustrating also because the boys refused to explain anything to Tom, they just kept telling him to shut up and stop asking questions. It annoyed me a lot, so much that the whole beginning was the reason I didn’t rate this book four clubs.

I loved the location of this book, it was different and a mystery. A maze that surrounded their living field? Weird mechanical creatures called Grievers that would kill them, lived in the maze? Walls that closed every night to keep them safe from the Grievers? Brilliant. They had people called ‘maze runners’ that would run through a portion of the maze every day and take note of where they ran, they were trying to find an exit to get out of the hell hole they lived in, they had to continually run in fear of coming across a griever and being killed by it. As soon as Tom arrives he knows he’s meant to be a maze runner. However to be honest I felt like this story moved way too fast, Tom barely became a maze runner before anything started happening. The title of this series and this book felt misleading because of this.

I also found myself putting things together really fast yet Tom didn’t put anything together until the end, this was annoying simply because it was so obvious to me. When the only girl arrives in the maze and admits to changing something the boys turn on her and blame her, this annoyed me as well. The boys were very childish and stubborn, I hated that I didn’t like them, it just felt so stupid for them to lay the blame instead of trying to come up with a plan. Also the girl felt like she was barely in the story, I was confused by this.

So I did have a few things that I didn’t like about The Maze Runner, however I still enjoyed the book overall. The ending as well has me dying to read the next book, I’m just a little scared about coming across the same problems in the next book that I did in this book so I’m going to give it a bit of a break before I get to it.

In Summary:
– I highly enjoyed The Maze Runner. It was different and exciting.
– I hated that the boys had their own swear words, it drove me up the wall at the rate they all said them.
– I felt like the mystery was a little bit obvious and that Tom and the boys were incredibly stupid for not having put it together way sooner.
– I really enjoyed reading this book but I am fearful that the next book in the series will carry over all the things I didn’t like about this book. I’m hoping everyone will grow in the next book.

Miss J

Follow Miss Book Reviews on Bloglovin

4 thoughts on “[Review #124] The Maze Runner by James Dashner

  1. I really hate when books have their own swear words and such in them too, I mean I understand why usually but it frustrates me and seems silly. Just curse normally already if you are going to! lol Great review! I enjoyed The Maze Runner as well because the whole idea/concept was very interesting.

    • Yes! It just comes across as stupid to me, it sounds horrible and makes me want to throw the book against a wall haha. I’m glad I was able to finally get past that feeling so I could read the rest of this book.

Comment <3

